Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Game Won't load (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=59731)

Archived Post 01-13-2010 11:43 AM

Game Won't load
 
Everytime I click the Game Launcher from the Desktop or Start Menu Programs.. I just get a crash and nothing else.

Reboots, updates, etc. I've done them all.

Game simply won't load.

OS: XP x64 Pro
RAM: 4GB
GFX: Asus 8800GTX
CPU: AMD x2 4200+ (don't start CPU wars cause this cpu has left many quads behind).
HD: 5+ TB.

Ideas welcome!

Archived Post 01-13-2010 12:00 PM

Update on this.. set compatibility as Windows XP.. no crash.. but game still doesn't load. Just an idle process using ~30mb of RAM and 40-50% CPU.

error.log in home directory says:
100113 19:34:33 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 19:34:33 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"
100113 19:35:00 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 19:35:00 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"
100113 19:35:54 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 19:35:54 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"
100113 19:52:08 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 19:52:08 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"
100113 19:53:41 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 19:53:41 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"

Whatever this is.. it seems it needs a fix. ^^

Archived Post 01-13-2010 12:02 PM

Please post the error ID number.

Archived Post 01-13-2010 12:05 PM

Ahh, OLE failures. These come from another program on your system hooking into our application startup and disrupting it (initializing OLE/COM before we do and doing it wrong). A known offender is the Nvidia Application Firewall (comes with the chipset drivers, not the GFX stuffs), but it could be almost anything. You need to find and disable/uninstall the offending program >_<

Archived Post 01-13-2010 12:05 PM

I would say that the error ID is before the timestamp.. no?

If so: 100113

This is the complete output from errors.log.

Archived Post 01-13-2010 12:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by coderanger
Ahh, OLE failures. These come from another program on your system hooking into our application startup and disrupting it (initializing OLE/COM before we do and doing it wrong). A known offender is the Nvidia Application Firewall (comes with the chipset drivers, not the GFX stuffs), but it could be almost anything. You need to find and disable/uninstall the offending program >_<

Ok.. MSconfig time.. BRB. :)

I will leave active:
APC monitor
Razer HID

Archived Post 01-13-2010 12:27 PM

Ok.. no luck.

I have nothing else to disable.. except APC and Razer Softwares.

Not crashing.. but not loading as well.

100113 20:12:17 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 20:12:17 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"

These were the last errors.

Current timestamp is: 20:25:xx

EDIT: Well.. I'll give a try tomorrow.. now I think I'm going back to bofhing with sendmail...
EDIT #2:
Saw this in another post:
Quote:

Originally Posted by coderanger
Try minimizing and maximizing the program via Task Manager, this usually force the window to be visible. OOC, do you have more than one monitor?

I do.. but I have nothing on the system taskbar. Therefore.. it's like STO is in background mode.. and not in a way I can interact with.. except through task manager...

Archived Post 01-13-2010 02:43 PM

Same issue here, same OLE error. The ID is 4544685.

Archived Post 01-17-2010 07:59 AM

Same problem here. Only nVidia software running is graphics related. Error Ticket ID 4548575

Different error number listed by OLE though
100117 15:57:33 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 1
100117 15:57:33 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 1"

Archived Post 01-17-2010 08:25 AM

I install game and then Launcher it after its done. Launcher does a patch. and then gives me a engage button. I hit it. Screen goes Black for about 1 to 2 seconds then drops to a window with black in it and nothing eles. so i go to task manager and it says ( Not Responding ). so i click on game at bottom and it givea a Cmd screen and a Error ( Unable to find required game data files . if this problem persist reinstalling app may fix it.

CmD screen shows

Perloading DDLs..Done (0.01)
Filesystem Startup...gamedatadirs:
m.

And that as far as i can get. so here whats im running to help fig this out


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 PM.