Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Time to upgrade your servers. (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=616981)

darkfader1988 04-11-2013 12:33 PM

Time to upgrade your servers.
 
Every since F2P hit the lag has been idiotic at times, its like your servers arent capable of handling this amount of players, especially with new events or renewed events the whole server is laggin like hell.

Just sayin.

neekoflats 04-11-2013 01:48 PM

yup...
 
I just posted in another thread how the lag spikes are unreal at times. :eek:

Server upgrades needed... ESPECIALLY with the Romulan Faction coming out next month. All the new players and content may make the game unplayable in terms of lag generated.

I want a Life time account, but I want one that I can use... as is, I'm really on the fence about it.

alemap000 04-11-2013 02:13 PM

Wish I could even get that far...
 
So I thought I'd check out STO since it's been a while since I tried the beta. Downloading the client and installing it has been a nightmare and while I've gotten a character built I am unable to get past the crashes when trying to play.

I am giving up. I've restarted, deleted STO and reinstalled, removed Pando, left Pando alone, changed my firewall, restored my firewall, and it's been 4 days, 3 tickets, no response from STO tech. I'd make a separate post about this but hey - when I login to the forums I get a redirect error and can only respond to posts apparently.

When I installed SWTOR there was no issue. LOTRO, no issue. ****, Rift, ***, all of them installed with a minimum of fuss.

I love Star Trek and would have loved to play and maybe even subscribe. But truthfully I can't even get the game to work and if it's this tough to get the thing installed and running then how well does the actual game even work?

xcom43 04-11-2013 03:37 PM

They been needing new servers for 3 years.

royalsovereign 04-23-2013 01:46 PM

You know, it's funny.

I play STO on a few different machines.

My main "at-home CAD machine" was a great CAD workstation - 6 years ago. Old Dell Precision with 2GB RAM and running WinNT 4.0 64-bit. As long as I keep it on minimum graphics, it's pretty smooth. Crank up the eyecandy and it's slideshow time.

My work computer isn't much better. Yes, I sometimes log in at lunch or if I'm waiting around after hours. AMD Athlon 64x2 2.4 GHz, 2GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4600. Looks a bit nicer than the home computer. Runs STO quite well unless I crank up the visuals.

My laptop, well, it barely runs STO. Move more than a few zones and contacts show up missing body parts or faces because the poor thing is already out of RAM and the HD is swapping like crazy. But it runs.

On all three of these machines, actual gameplay is pretty smooth. No lag. Had some rubberbanding a few days ago - turned out someone was spamming my neighborhood's cable loop or something, went away after an hour or so.

My point? If anyone should be having connection/lag/crashing/BSOD issues, it's me. And I'm having exactly zero. I'm relatively sure I'm logging in to the same servers as everyone griping on this forum. So for all you folks who insist that "I've tested my connection and it HAS to be on STO's end," it ain't. Figure out what's wrong on your end. I'm sure there are plenty of knowledgeable folks here willing to help you do that.

Or, if it makes you feel better, go ahead and ragequit.

feyll 04-23-2013 10:04 PM

Royal... you do know they're talking about connection lag and not from per second issues, right? Anyway... I've been getting twice the amount of lag I'm used to and only in cryptic games. It's kind of like a similar experience I had playing CO while STO was being released. If I didn't know better (and let's hope this hypothesis is wrong) they're hosting all three games on one server... but that couldn't be the case. No company's that pants-on-head stupid.

darkfader1988 04-26-2013 09:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by feyll (Post 9422001)
Royal... you do know they're talking about connection lag and not from per second issues, right? Anyway... I've been getting twice the amount of lag I'm used to and only in cryptic games. It's kind of like a similar experience I had playing CO while STO was being released. If I didn't know better (and let's hope this hypothesis is wrong) they're hosting all three games on one server... but that couldn't be the case. No company's that pants-on-head stupid.

Perhaps I should've mentioned the lag that happens when changing something in inventory, equipping/de-equipping gear etc.

The ping to the server here is actually pretty stable at 100-130ms constant.

I was refering to their internal database or whatever they use to store all the items, variables et cetera. Pure lag most of the time.

No my FPS is sitting at a steady 60.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:32 PM.