Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Gameplay Bug Reports (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Major ATI Bug? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=62357)

Archived Post 01-14-2010 01:26 PM

Major ATI Bug?
 
It seems that everyime the server decides to crash or go down for maitenence, it kills my computer. A full out crash to nothingness as if the power went out and it only does it when the server crashes. Either theres a bad kill code somewhere but they should kill everyones login like in WoW instead of causing your tower to bite the dust constantly. I checked all my temps, scanned my memory and even did a scan on my raid array and nothing stands out, this is the only game my computer does this to and its almost sickening. Running Ati 4890's in Crossfire.


Asus Formula III Mobo
Phenom 2x4 955 @ 3.21ghz
6gb 1333 (non-oc'd) ram
XFX 4890 Dual graphics cards in crossfire
Raid 0- Dual 10k rpm velociraptor hdd's with 1 1tb backup drive

Archived Post 01-14-2010 01:35 PM

I'm running a 4870, and I have BSOD (page fault related to the ATI Driver), both times while running ground missions on Starbase 24. The game looses track of everything I have done in that system after my crash.

Driver Packaging Version 8.661-090923a1-083739C-ATI
Catalyst™ Version 09.10
Provider ATI Technologies Inc.
2D Driver Version 6.14.10.7008
2D Driver File Path System/CurrentControlSet/Control/Video/{B0499C0E-EF69-4489-AB7D-F192D6C8F31D}/0000
Direct3D Version 6.14.10.0700
OpenGL Version 6.14.10.9026
Catalyst™ Control Center Version 2009.0925.1707.28889
AIW/VIVO WDM Driver Version 6.14.10.6238
AIW/VIVO WDM SP Driver Version 6.14.10.6238

Archived Post 01-14-2010 06:32 PM

YES. I have the same problem with Starbase 24 and my ATI 5770. The game crashes and hard locks my computer everytime I try to play through it, requiring a reboot. Doesn't happen anywhere else.

Archived Post 01-14-2010 06:45 PM

same here (only in Star Base) with 5770's in crossfire...weird

Archived Post 01-14-2010 08:12 PM

I'm also having the crazy flickering problem, even with settings set all the way to low (HD5770) Ive heard of some people fixing similar problems in other games by enabling geometric instancing, but that option doesn't seem to be available in my catalyst control center anymore (must have been too helpful so they removed it)

it pretty much makes the game impossible to play, Ive managed to blindly stumble my way to the surface of vega, but it's gotten impossible to work around now.

Archived Post 01-14-2010 08:55 PM

spider - your sig is hillarious!

Archived Post 01-14-2010 10:11 PM

I get the same issues on my 4870. It keeps crashing with some issue with the dx9 driver doing ground combat with the klingons.

Archived Post 01-14-2010 10:14 PM

Try turning off AA and all FX and bloom options. It seams to help.

Archived Post 01-14-2010 10:45 PM

Me to
 
I only have flickering at the start of the loading screen, but that in 100% of loadings...
The other thing that i don't understand : I Have an ATI Radeon 5850, but i can't activate AA, the Launcher/Client/Game gives the Advice : Not supported on that Card
I haven't tried to activate it directly over catalyst center, i will try that this evening.

Archived Post 01-15-2010 08:50 PM

Fixed Problem
 
Well I swapped my video cards so the load is on the one that always doesnt have the load and it seems to be stable and the temps are a lot better. Maybe my second card just doesnt have the umph it should have, but it still renders fine. Good thing XFX has a kick arse warranty on their products but if I do replace it, Im just going to upgrade to the 5 series w/ water cooling :)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 AM.