Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Art of Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=216)
-   -   Temporarily Increase Resolution Beyond Options? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=646511)

domvina 04-30-2013 09:25 AM

Temporarily Increase Resolution Beyond Options?
 
This is a bit of a long shot but in Champions Online there was a "/" command you could enter while in-game that would allow you to increase / decrease the resolution beyond what the Options menu allows. This was a great way to get amazing screenshots (though it shot FPS into the toilet).

Unfortunately I've lost my notes on the / command.

Does anyone know if STO has a similar command and, if so, what it is?

drkfrontiers 04-30-2013 10:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by domvina (Post 9547871)
This is a bit of a long shot but in Champions Online there was a "/" command you could enter while in-game that would allow you to increase / decrease the resolution beyond what the Options menu allows. This was a great way to get amazing screenshots (though it shot FPS into the toilet).

Unfortunately I've lost my notes on the / command.

Does anyone know if STO has a similar command and, if so, what it is?

Not sure about the command.

But you could use demorecord

/demorecord [name_of_your_file]

to stop:

/demorecord_stop

Then you navigate to your "Live" folder on your local drive, and look inside "demos" folder of STO

Then using STODemoLauncher you can render the demo file into .jpg at just about any resolution.

The .jpg are then rendered to your Live > "Screenshots" folder

You can take the step further and use VirtualDub to render the screenshots into an .avi movie if you desire too.

Hope this is of some help :)

stormturmoil 04-30-2013 10:51 AM

I think the command you want is /renderscale #

where '#' is a number; 1 is normal; 2 is double, 3 triple and so on. Decimals are accepted. Going above 3 is highly likely to strain the game however and possibly crash it depending on specs. As long as you're not moving and the background isn't busy it should be fine.

If you want better background and stuff is fading out you can also use /visscale #
to alter the drop off distance; the higher '#' is, the higher the draw distance for background details etc. similar cautionaries apply to setting it to high.

nynik 04-30-2013 11:20 AM

stormturmoil hit the nail on the head.

Here is a link to a dev post (saying the same thing with some extra tidbits): http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...04&postcount=8

tacofangs 04-30-2013 11:24 AM

Yes, you're thinking of /renderscale.

I really don't recommend you go beyond 3. . .

idrona 04-30-2013 11:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tacofangs (Post 9550341)
Yes, you're thinking of /renderscale.

I really don't recommend you go beyond 3. . .


I went beyond 3 once... it was terrible. :P





No, joking aside the game client crashed after awhile for me on renderscale 4.

domvina 04-30-2013 12:17 PM

Thank you everyone! d(^.^)o

foxalpha5 04-30-2013 02:36 PM

No terrible would be /renderscale .1. Don't do it!

I admit I found myself using /renderscale .5 on most of tribble now. I could turn down my graphics...but I like 500% BLOOM!

tacofangs 04-30-2013 03:03 PM

.1 is cubist mode.

10 is burn down your house mode.

atatassault 04-30-2013 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tacofangs (Post 9555211)
.1 is cubist mode.

10 is burn down your house mode.

I took a renderscale 10 screen once. The screen isn't what crashed STO; I forgot to decrease it back to 1 before I did something else.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 AM.