Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Graphical and Sound Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Low Resolution Blurry Graphics (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=680621)

brodie0854 05-16-2013 09:21 AM

Low Resolution Blurry Graphics
 
Hello,

Whenever i load to a new area, both ground and space the textures are all incredibly low res, almost as if i have the graphical settings set extremely low even though I have them all maxed out.
I have found a highly annoying workaround to get the graphics back to the way they should be, if i go into the graphic settings menu and tick and then untick the Half Resolution tickbox the graphics suddenly become high res again and remains so until i load to another area where i have to repeat the process.

I have tried adjusting the settings in the Troubleshooting section, namely the Direct X version but nothing makes a difference.

A bit of info about my system:

  • OS: Win7 64bit.
  • MoBo: Asus P8Z77-V Intel.
  • CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz, 3501 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s).
  • RAM: Patriot Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) Viper Xtreme Series PC3-15000 1866MHz CL9 Division 2 Edition.
  • GPU: 2x Sapphire Technology AMD Radeon 7970 HD 1GHz 6GB PCI-Express 3.0 HDMI Vapor-X.
  • SSD: OCZ Technology 256GB Vector Series SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive.
  • HDD: Seagate 1TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive.
  • Monitors: 3x Acer S240HLbid 24'' Full HD widescreen LCD monitor with LED Backlight.
  • Game Resolution: 5896 x 1080.

* All drivers and system updates are current (and i've even re-installed the GPU drivers to be safe)
** The two GPU's are Crossfired
*** I've tried the game with only one of the GPU's running so eliminate Crossfired GPU issues.

I've been playing other games across my 3 monitors using Eyefinity with no issues for some time now (eg LOTRO runs and displays perfectly maxed out). My system's specs are more than powerful enough, and once i've performed the above mentioned work around the game displays and runs perfectly fine until i load to a new area.

I posted a reply to an archived (necro'd) thread on this forum, but i thought i'd be better creating a brand new one.

Please help me.

dirlettia 05-16-2013 09:26 AM

This normally happens to me after doing an Alt-Enter to move from full screen to windowed. Clicking the maximise button instead of alt-enter to return is normally useful to try and avoid this happening.

brodie0854 05-16-2013 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dirlettia (Post 9973281)
This normally happens to me after doing an Alt-Enter to move from full screen to windowed. Clicking the maximise button instead of alt-enter to return is normally useful to try and avoid this happening.

Hey :D

Thanks for the reply, this thing happens even if i dont Alt-Enter, i can be sat Earth Spacedock with a beautifully crisp image and smooth image across all 3 monitors and without leaving the screen i'll beam up to my ship (space or bridge) and it will be all low res and blurry again.

This is different that the block pixelated mess that is described in the Sticky on the top of this forum. As soon as the game servers are back up i'll snap some screenies.

brodie0854 05-16-2013 10:45 AM

As promised here are a few examples, in each i have taken a picture both before (low res) and after i have performed the tick/untick half res workaround described above.
(a) = Low Res (b) = Post Workaround

Example 1:
Example 2:
Example 3:
Example 4:
Example 5:
Example 6:
Obviously you can see the differenced more clearly when you view the screen shots in full screen, i've not resized them so they are all in 5896 x 1080

tacofangs 05-16-2013 11:08 AM

Is this on Holodeck, or on Tribble? (or both?)

brodie0854 05-16-2013 11:15 AM

Holodeck, not tried it on Tribble.
Patching Tribble now

psiameese 05-16-2013 11:37 AM

Oddly enough this has been the case for me, too. For a long time. On both Holodeck and Tribble. It seems really random when I enter, say, ESD to low resolution. Then moments later the images refresh and are crisp. This is without changing instances.

I'm using Windows Vista 64-bit and ATI Radeon 4800 series. Latest drivers installed.

burstdragon323 05-16-2013 11:57 AM

I get this too, the backgrounds go from sharp to blurry and back.
ATI Radeon HD 4000 Series

tifer 05-16-2013 12:05 PM

It's been happening ever since New Romulus launch. The game's eating a ton of video memory for no reason since then and the only way I've found so far to get around this is to force 1GB+ of video memory usage in the Troubleshooting options of the Video section. It's annoying and even with this workaround things keep shifting between low res and high res. Both on tribble and on holodeck. And it's happening on my laptop as well as on my desktop so it's not limited to a single machine or set of drivers.

neosaturn 05-16-2013 12:55 PM

Anybody else haivng this issue

Seems to be only on faces on tribble


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 AM.