Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Klingon Gameplay (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=166)
-   -   WOOOO Cloaks being fixed!! (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=683031)

abaddon653 05-17-2013 12:32 PM

WOOOO Cloaks being fixed!!
 
In dev blog #20 they have stated that they are fixing the decloak problem so we will no longer drop out of cloak every time a bridge officer sneezes!!!

"We also updated several Cardassian and Borg themed episodes for inclusion in the Klingon?s storyline. New dialog options were added to make them feel more in-line with the Empire?s goals, and an effort was made to make many parts of the game friendlier to cloaked ships! Yes, that?s right; we can now take steps to ensure that your First Officer doesn?t pull your ship out of cloak just to tell you that nothing can be found on the scanners. It?s a slow and involved process to make all the Klingon missions ?cloak friendly,? so give us some time. It?s one aspect of the game we will continue to improve upon in the future."

WOOOO!!

dalolorn 05-17-2013 12:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by abaddon653 (Post 10004311)
In dev blog #20 they have stated that they are fixing the decloak problem so we will no longer drop out of cloak every time a bridge officer sneezes!!!

"We also updated several Cardassian and Borg themed episodes for inclusion in the Klingon?s storyline. New dialog options were added to make them feel more in-line with the Empire?s goals, and an effort was made to make many parts of the game friendlier to cloaked ships! Yes, that?s right; we can now take steps to ensure that your First Officer doesn?t pull your ship out of cloak just to tell you that nothing can be found on the scanners. It?s a slow and involved process to make all the Klingon missions ?cloak friendly,? so give us some time. It?s one aspect of the game we will continue to improve upon in the future."

WOOOO!!

Unfortunately, not all of the instances will be fixed in the near future. :P

reH, QaH nuv'e' SuvmeH! :D

Edit: Bah, I wish Bing was more accurate... when I translated "Still, this will help us against our foes!" into Klingon (producing the above text) and back, I got "to Help people, always".

So much for using the Klingon language in appropriate places. :mad:

travelingmaster 05-17-2013 01:08 PM

Yeah, convenient how they 'fix' this right when the accursed Romulans are being released. :mad:

Oh well, at least it's getting done.

voicesdark 05-17-2013 02:55 PM

Ahhh....Romulan intelligence will always outmatch Klingon Barbarism. :D

It's cool to see that Bing added Klingon to the translation matrix, just sorry they didn't do it so it accounts for sentence structure.

Seems like a lot of the old problems like this are finally getting addressed. Hopefully AutoNav pathing will be next across the board.

Not sure how it is with you Klingons, but on the Fed side autonav pathing sucks.

I wonder how many Klingon first officers were killed for sneezing while cloaked? lol

wraithshadow13 05-17-2013 03:17 PM

It's funny how this was first a huge bug, then Stahl said it was "working as intended" and now its back to being a bug that's been fixed.....

Aside from that i'm wondering just what all they did that makes the missions more cloak friendly aside from that. Unless it's like every thing else they advertised in which case it's just that and they're trying to make it sound like something it's not.... To make it even worse is that Fed and Klingon cloaks are only being fixed so the romulan crowd doesn't get angry.

I wonder if the "cloak friendly" missions (if it's even that) will apply to feds with cloaks as well?

vitzh 05-17-2013 03:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wraithshadow13 (Post 10009041)
It's funny how this was first a huge bug, then Stahl said it was "working as intended" and now its back to being a bug that's been fixed.....

This.

Either way Cryptic has lost a lot more credibility (as if they had much to begin with). This is something they should have done well over 2 years ago. They will not get praise for this, nor should they deserve it. The opinion of everyone should be "about time!" but also remain skeptical.

Can't think of a developer except a few that has betrayed the trust of their customers as much as Cryptic has yet gotten away with it.

travelingmaster 05-17-2013 04:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by voicesdark (Post 10008511)
Ahhh....Romulan intelligence will always outmatch Klingon Barbarism. :D

It's cool to see that Bing added Klingon to the translation matrix, just sorry they didn't do it so it accounts for sentence structure.

Seems like a lot of the old problems like this are finally getting addressed. Hopefully AutoNav pathing will be next across the board.

Not sure how it is with you Klingons, but on the Fed side autonav pathing sucks.

I wonder how many Klingon first officers were killed for sneezing while cloaked? lol

Yeah, some of our content has pretty wonky autonav pathing.

ooiue 05-17-2013 05:19 PM

Having played the KDF content on tribble, I can say for certain that they are fixing it

That being said, quite a few of the missios in the game will still have the bug, but it I'd say they are at least half way there

zipagat 05-17-2013 05:33 PM

Funny how it has gone from ''working as intended'' according to certain Cryptic staff to a bug all of a sudden. Its almost like some kind of big event like the Romulan faction triggered this... oh wait. I think a lot of vet KDF called this.

jheinig 05-17-2013 06:07 PM

As previously noted, this must be done on a case-by-case basis. That means that it is simpler to build a mission from the ground up with this function, than to go back to an older mission and retrofit it. (Not that this stopped me when I was retrofitting the Cardassian missions to make them accessible to Klingons.) Naturally, this means that the new content will be more likely to have this feature, not because it's just for Romulans, but simply because doing it from the start in new missions was simpler to do.

The fact that interactions drop your ship out of cloak works as designed in that this is what the engine is programmed to do. The base engine, unless you specifically build around it, flags that when any kind of interaction happens -- talking to a bridge officer, scanning a mission objective, whatever -- it will interrupt the cloak power. So, it is "working as designed" in that it does exactly what the engine is built to do. Brandon might call it a "bug" inasmuch as people complain about it, but it's not a "bug" in the sense that this is not the engine behaving in some way that it shouldn't, or some code not doing what we meant for it to do. It is doing exactly what the code is programmed to do, and working around that requires specific time and functionality changes from the designers.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40 AM.