Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Low FPS and Lag issues (help Cryptic) (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=70299)

Archived Post 01-18-2010 04:07 PM

Low FPS and Lag issues (help Cryptic)
 
Processor Name: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600 @ 2.40GHz
Videocard Name: NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT
Installed Memory: 2,042.80 MB
Windows Version: Windows XP (5.1.2600) Professional

My Spec's

Having no problems in Close Beta what so ever (FPS 60 and runing as perfect as it can get)

ever since Open beta started i been having Very low FPS (around 20 to 25 with /showfps 1 )
and Lag issues

and cryptic post with a fix? or does cryptic needs new hardware? ,

help please

Archived Post 01-18-2010 04:31 PM

mate try setting cpu affinity to one core i did it with mine cpu usage went from 100% with dual monitors and firefox running to maxing out at 80% at star base battles with 20 something other peeps

Archived Post 01-18-2010 04:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by skymonster
mate try setting cpu affinity to one core i did it with mine cpu usage went from 100% with dual monitors and firefox running to maxing out at 80% at star base battles with 20 something other peeps

why 1 core ?

Archived Post 01-18-2010 04:44 PM

alot of new games dont have their ability to use both cores just right so it takes alot of system resources or at least more than it should to change it you

open waindow task manager>click proccesses tab>sort by user name>scroll down till you find GameClient.exe>Rightclick go down to set affinity>make sure only one box has a tick in it doesnt matter which

Archived Post 01-18-2010 04:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by skymonster
alot of new games dont have their ability to use both cores just right so it takes alot of system resources or at least more than it should to change it you

open waindow task manager>click proccesses tab>sort by user name>scroll down till you find GameClient.exe>Rightclick go down to set affinity>make sure only one box has a tick in it doesnt matter which

i have to be in game right to find gameclient.exe ?

Archived Post 01-18-2010 04:49 PM

yeah you have to have the game running

Archived Post 01-18-2010 04:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by skymonster
yeah you have to have the game running

do i need to change anything ingame?

Archived Post 01-18-2010 04:51 PM

nope.......

Archived Post 01-18-2010 04:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by skymonster
nope.......

dont see anything different, matter of fact i think the FPS went down

Archived Post 01-18-2010 04:53 PM

oh well worth a shot


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 PM.