Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Controls, User Interface, and the STO Gateway (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   Can we have a Transfer Flag ability? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=776031)

hrisvalar 07-02-2013 07:45 AM

Can we have a Transfer Flag ability?
 
So what's that? Simply the ability to switch ships in sector space, so without having to go to a shipyard. (It seems a bit odd, that Starfleet would have perfectly good ships sitting in drydocks collecting spacedust, cause they have only one captain between them.)

The way I see this would work is, if you right-click your portrait, where on the ground there would be the Change Costume option, in sector space, we'd have the Transfer Flag option. Clicking this pops up a screen much like the costume one, only this one lists all of your ships; Name, Registry and Class.

Then when you've clicked one, that ship will warp into sector space beside you, there'd a transporter effect, your camera jumps to the newly summoned ship, and the ship you were just on warps out. All done. If people want to move gear from one ship to the other, they'll still need to use a shipyard I feel (or just unequip the items before making the switch), but that's still pretty convenient.

And it'll look cool.

n20000nick 07-02-2013 09:01 AM

It would be usefull but there already is a sort of way of doing this. In your ship you can select your active ship at the transporter. So when I want to switch ship while I'm in outer space, I visit my runabout's bridge so I don't have to walk all the way trough my starship to get to transporter and select the ship I wanna use. I beam out and I'm in the ship I selected.

But for some reason I can't select all of my ships at the transporter, the only ships in the list are my current ship, my small craft and the ship used previously.

toiva 07-02-2013 09:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by n20000nick (Post 11181671)
It would be usefull but there already is a sort of way of doing this. In your ship you can select your active ship at the transporter. So when I want to switch ship while I'm in outer space, I visit my runabout's bridge so I don't have to walk all the way trough my starship to get to transporter and select the ship I wanna use. I beam out and I'm in the ship I selected.

But for some reason I can't select all of my ships at the transporter, the only ships in the list are my current ship, my small craft and the ship used previously.

That's working as intended. The only ships from which you can select any small craft AND any main ships are the Civilian ships: Tuffli and Cell ship (the Cell ship is currently bugged, but it should offer this same capability as the Tuffli).

hrisvalar 07-02-2013 11:09 AM

Kinda, sorta, maybe, though not quite. You forgot the most important part, though:
Quote:

Originally Posted by hrisvalar (Post 11179211)
And it'll look cool.



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 PM.