Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Academy (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=127)
-   -   [GUIDE] How to (re)install STO without Arc, or So you want STO without PWE. (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=819701)

matridunadan1 08-07-2013 09:15 PM

[GUIDE] How to (re)install STO without Arc, or So you want STO without PWE.
 
WARNING: Massive (3.5GB) download is required. Download accelerators/managers and/or premium accounts recommended but not required.

2nd WARNING: DO NOT uninstall Arc/STO yet.

Okay, here is my guide to creating an install of STO that does not have Arc in it.

First thing's first, DO NOT REMOVE your current install of STO/Arc. We still need the data files, or you will have to re-download an entire year-and-a-half's worth of patches & seasons. Don't worry, it will be taken out soon, though.

Secondly, you will need around 14GB of free hard drive space. We will be performing a little transfer of files, and the data files consume the most space.

Next, you will need one of the older installers. You need the Full Install, which is around 3.5GB. I'm afraid there's no getting around this requirement. Here are a few links:

We're almost there.

Unpack the installer files into a temporary directory, but do not run it yet. Delete the files in the installer's PIGGS directory, and replace them with files from your current install.

The files from your current install are located here:
Quote:

Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online\Live\piggs
Doing this will update the installer's data files to the current latest version.

NOW you may uninstall Arc.

One final step: Install STO from the installer we just updated. It will take a while, and fortunately for us the installer will not mind that the hogg files are different and much larger than the originals. When completed, run the game as normal. The launcher will update itself to the latest version, and download the game's latest binaries.

Star Trek Online is now installed without Arc.

Optional: Save a copy of the installer onto a thumbdrive so you don't have to re-download every time you need to reinstall. Update the hogg files to keep the installer up-to-date. You will need to re-format the drive to NTFS, as one of the datafiles (bins.hogg) will possibly exceed the 4GB size limit.

matridunadan1 08-07-2013 09:15 PM

*Reserved for future use*

Sorry if it's a little vague, this is my first time writing a guide.

matridunadan1 08-07-2013 09:20 PM

*Reserved for future use*

shockwave85 08-08-2013 10:17 AM

Interesting. I have a retail install disc, could I grab the contents of that disc as a "Full install"? Then of course update the install data as you suggested and stash it somewhere. Just having an up to date STO installer would be a big time saver if I need to rebuild the PC or set up another machine.

matridunadan1 08-08-2013 01:47 PM

Theoretically that should work as well, although I am unable to personally confirm it.

startrekron 08-08-2013 04:49 PM

Thanks for the post copying this before Cryptic deletes the post.

phemken 08-08-2013 10:04 PM

Thanks for this. I've got STO on Steam but I saved it just to be on the safe side.

somebob 08-09-2013 08:58 AM

Of course, as long as you have the old launcher file tucked away somewhere, you can always redownload the entire game through it. Yeah, it's starting to get slightly unwieldy to do that, but it should work, no?

captainbailey 08-09-2013 09:18 AM

yeah I just realized I own STO collectors edition so theoretically I could use that to install the game.

matridunadan1 08-09-2013 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by somebob (Post 11823391)
Of course, as long as you have the old launcher file tucked away somewhere, you can always redownload the entire game through it. Yeah, it's starting to get slightly unwieldy to do that, but it should work, no?

That is true. But still, few people keep a backup of the installer ( it IS huge, after all ), and fewer still are aware that the installer's data files can be updated.

I myself discovered it on a hunch, when I looked at the files in the installer.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 AM.