Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Graphical and Sound Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Over Max VRAM / TexReduceAutoLevel with 4GB Video Card (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=861061)

moo8e 09-23-2013 05:54 AM

Over Max VRAM / TexReduceAutoLevel with 4GB Video Card
 
With all graphics settings set to maximum, "Over Max VRAM (800.00MB)" message occurs resulting in the Texture Reduce Auto Levelling to kick in (can be seen using the "/showmem 1" command), resulting in lower quality textures.

Attempted using the following commands, but they don't seem fix the problem.

/TexReduceAutoLevel 0
/videomemorymax 4096

Graphics card is a GTX 770 4GB, latest drivers.
1920x1200 Resolution, 60Hz.
4930K i7 Hex Core CPU.
16GB Quad Channel DDR3 1600MHz.

masterkeychnk5 09-26-2013 04:50 PM

same issue, 2GB card, textures are still popping as they go.

Since LOR.


Issue is mentioned by more then several people in the Taco Fangs thread yet no developer that acknowledges the problem.

cptskeeteruk 10-07-2013 05:44 PM

Pretty bad quality at ds9 near the exchange. I dont know if i am seeing the best of the textures or not. Tho ds9 at that location has never looked particularly good there on the walls, sloppy texturing i think.

http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/6822/uuz.png

I get this with my 2gb gtx 670 card with the latest drivers. I use windows 7 64bit, dx9 ingame mode and maximum details set ingame with 4x aa, I did try with aa off but same result.

Can we get a reply to this please? I have noticed particularly that the textures do take ages to load to high res versions ones since the last season or the LOR expansion. Unless it's a problem with keplar type of cards because i didnt have this on my old 570 card or not as bad if i remember correctly. The 570 i had about 1.280mb of ram but was fermi type of card.

I do distinctly remember that their were higher res textures on the wooden tables at ds9 near the exchange and on my kdf captains room where the marble table was, they were alot sharper. But I'm lucky to ever see the higher textures these days, even after just panning the camera around the table for 5 mins trying to get it to load.

Any help from cryptic? Does anyone in QA or devs read these sections much?

I want my higher textures to load again please. I know they are there for some things but im not seeing them load like they used to.

shailat 10-07-2013 09:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cptskeeteruk (Post 12758031)
Pretty bad quality in ds9 near exchange, i duno if im seeing the best of the textures or not, tho ds9 there has never looked particulary good there on the walls, sloppy texturing i think.

http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/6822/uuz.png

I get this with my 2gb 670 card latest drivers, win 7 64bit, using dx9 ingame, max details ingame 4x aa and tried with aa off same thing.

Can we get a reply to this. I have noticed particulary that textures take ages to load to high ones since last season or the lor expansion. Unless its a problem with keplar cards because i didnt have this on my old 570 card or not as bad. It had 1.280mb of ram but was fermi type of card.

I distinctly remember higher rest on the wooden tables on ds9 near exchange and on my kdf captains room the marble there was alot sharper but im lucky to ever see that higher texture these days even after just panning the camera around the table for 5 mins trying to get it to load.

Any help cryptic, does anyone in QA or devs read this section much?

I want my higher textures to load again please. I know they are there for some things but im not seeing them load like they used to.

I'm having the same problem, my card has 2gb on it, and at random i get
memory was low, using reduced textures (or something like that),
I have a quad core 2.66GhZ with windows XP64 bit and 4gb mem, (yes i know, outdated but sto ran excellent before the release of lor)

johnsteward 10-07-2013 10:41 PM

I'm having some issues with my gtx 770 too. Graphics stutter and the same texture stuffas described above.

grievas 10-08-2013 05:48 AM

I think this problem and our out of memory crash problem described in the following thread might be related:

http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=788951

I noticed that when changing zones the game does not clear the video memory in dx9 mode (fast enough) so it eventually needs to reduce quality and/or crashes.
did you try running the game in dx11 mode and have a look at the values?
My testing showed the game uses considerably less video memory in DX11 mode possibly due to some unsupported or badly supported functions like anti-aliasing.


Still it seems odd that video memory usage is capped at 800MB even if you have more.

cptskeeteruk 10-08-2013 11:06 AM

I usually get fps stuttering when i switch over to use dx11 mode tho does kinda smooth out after a little while, but still. Till they actually put the effort into dx11 mode and make a proper dx11 mode not just a hot patch of it i think i will stick to dx9 mode.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 PM.