Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Choppy on higher end system (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=87537)

Archived Post 01-28-2010 07:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gandrind
I'm running an AMD Phenom II X4 910 2.6 GHz processor, 8 Gigs DDR3 RAM, and an NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250, a 1 Gig 256 bit DDR3 card, on Windows 7 64 bit with a 650 watt power supply. I run every game I own and a few other beta games at max settings with no problems. STO runs fine in the space travel/combat setting but runs so choppy it's almost unplayable in the planet surface or space station settings. I run the game at "recommended" settings and even tried turning those down. It only runs smooth if I set the settings to low. When i checked my processes, my processor was hovering around 90%. I know my rig is better than this. Any suggestions?

get a stronger videocard.

Archived Post 01-28-2010 07:18 PM

Choppy on higher end system
 
I'm running an AMD Phenom II X4 910 2.6 GHz processor, 8 Gigs DDR3 RAM, and an NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250, a 1 Gig 256 bit DDR3 card, on Windows 7 64 bit with a 650 watt power supply. I run every game I own and a few other beta games at max settings with no problems. STO runs fine in the space travel/combat setting but runs so choppy it's almost unplayable in the planet surface or space station settings. I run the game at "recommended" settings and even tried turning those down. It only runs smooth if I set the settings to low. When i checked my processes, my processor was hovering around 90%. I know my rig is better than this. Any suggestions?

Archived Post 01-28-2010 07:22 PM

What driver are you using?

The stuttering is a known issue with some.

As you know, your GPU is more than adequate.

Archived Post 01-28-2010 07:26 PM

getting 196.21 now, i'll try that and the physics fixes i read about. using the 190.62 drivers isn't an option with Windows 7 apparently, it's errors out saying it's the wrong operating system at the beginning of install.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.