Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Launcher doesnt work (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=89541)

Archived Post 01-29-2010 10:26 PM

Launcher doesnt work
 
So I just finished dealing with the whole steam fiasco and now when I start up the launcher it just stops responding.

Is there any possibility of this game working as intended ever? that'd be nice since I paid for it and everything.

Archived Post 01-30-2010 12:16 AM

I have kinda the same problem. When I try to startup the game. It doesn't even load the loader it just pops open a windows saying Loading please wait and after a minute or 2 it gives me a time out message and cannot connect. I pre-orderd and have a lifetime sub and I am living in the Netherlands (europe). During open beta there was no problem. Plz help me with this.

Archived Post 01-30-2010 12:49 AM

Exact same problem here, the launcher gets to "Patching" then it just hangs for about a minute and a cryptic error submit box pops up.

I'm starting to think that neither steam or cryptic give a hoot about this whole thing, they're probably just hoping that if they keep quiet it will go away, trouble is ú40 is quite a lot of money, so I'm not going away.

Archived Post 01-30-2010 04:15 AM

Snap! me too:mad:

Archived Post 01-30-2010 02:50 PM

I've re´nstalled my computer seems like it has done the trick. Is patching as I type. Hope problem has been solved. Tip to all you guys: keep a current image of your OS. Saves you a heck of a headeach.

Archived Post 01-30-2010 02:53 PM

Same here it goes to launcher screen it starts to patch a little, then it crashes to a bug report. This ****en sucks. DEVS FIX THIS PLEASE!!!!

Archived Post 01-30-2010 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amdg3x7 (Post 1792122)
I've re´nstalled my computer seems like it has done the trick. Is patching as I type. Hope problem has been solved. Tip to all you guys: keep a current image of your OS. Saves you a heck of a headeach.

did you mean you re-installed windows? or the game?
thanks.

Archived Post 01-30-2010 04:40 PM

I am 99% certain this problem is because the .hogg files in the piggs folder are corrupt.

If you check the checksums versus the known good ones in the How to Get help thread, you will see.

http://forums.startrekonline.com/showthread.php?t=57331

That is 7.76GB of data. You might as well just redownload the client. And not from Steam if I were you.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05 AM.