Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Graphical and Sound Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Constant Black Boxes and lines (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=89727)

Archived Post 01-30-2010 03:44 AM

Constant Black Boxes and lines
 
Just started playing STO after 8 hours of redownloading because of steam. Video intro was completely torn apart and I couldnt make out anything.

In game, this graphical error makes black boxes and lines all over my screen. It changes depending on where I look. I can get it to disappear completely by staring at certain corners or just looking certain directions in a certain spot. But it makes the game unplayable.

No variations of graphical settings have yet to alleviate the problem. Im using triple ATI 5770s with the most recent drivers.

Any help?

Archived Post 01-30-2010 03:53 AM

Moving around and threw the game, certain places get graphical tearing in the same form of boxes and lines.

Archived Post 01-30-2010 04:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirby.
Im using triple ATI 5770s with the most recent drivers.

Any help?

You're using Three video cards?

Run this and copy / paste the entire thing.

Maybe one of your pieces of equipment aren't running right, this will let you know.


Have you tried lowering the video options at all?


This is what mine runs on and I can play at full graphics.


Quote:

CPU
Minimum: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 GHz or AMD Athlon X2 3800+
You Have: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5800 @ 2.00GHz
PASS

CPU Speed
Minimum: 1.8 GHz
You Have: 2.00 GHz
PASS

RAM
Minimum: 1 GB
You Have: 2.9 GB
PASS

OS
Minimum: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
You Have: Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition, 32-bit (Build Service Pack 26002)
PASS

Video Card
Minimum: NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 / Intel HD Graphics
You Have: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Upgrade Suggested: Unfortunately, your Video Card does not meet this requirement. Click here to see some recommendations.
Features: Minimum attributes of your Video Card
Required You Have
Video RAM 256 MB 1.3 GB
Hardware T&L Yes Yes
Pixel Shader version 3.0 4.0
Vertex Shader version 3.0 4.0

Sound Card
Minimum: Yes
You Have: Realtek High Definition Audio
PASS

Free Disk Space
Minimum: 8 GB Free Disk Space
You Have: 184.9 GB
PASS


Archived Post 01-30-2010 04:37 AM

Ya, 3 5770s run almost the same as a 5970 as far as fps goes for half the cost.

I got a complete pass on Can you Run it.

Ive tried default settings - maximum. No other games have any problems ( minus the light flashes on reflections in the battlefield beta),

My setup is:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
AMD Phenom II x4 965 Processor 3.8 GHz
8 GB memory
3 XFX 5770s Running in Tri-CrossfireX

Archived Post 01-30-2010 10:50 AM

same problem on 4830 ATI
 
I'm running a 4830 with crossfire. I have tryed it with and w/o crossfire and I have try changing all the setting in the game one at a time and still have this flashing problem it not just black it does multi colors depending on the room your in. I have update to the news driver still with the same problem. This game worked great during the open beta but now its unplayable. What changed from the beta????

Archived Post 01-30-2010 11:56 AM

Sounds like artifacting. DO you have a big enough PSU (with enough amps on the 12v rail?). You have 3 cards? Are you sure your system is cool enough, and has the power to supply everything you are using? Especially under teh stress this game puts a machineunder.

Archived Post 01-30-2010 12:48 PM

i have two 4830 800 pwr and the temp is 40c on one card 38c on the other

Archived Post 01-30-2010 02:21 PM

I have the power for it, and even three 5770s are running a low temp compared to most cards, under full load I have yet to ever hit 45 degrees C. I have good cooling and an 850 watt power supply that is more then enough power for 3 5770s which aren't very big power hogs.

I haven't been able to test the situation today since the servers are down. I'm going to try to rollback my drivers to 9.1 and see if that works.

Archived Post 01-30-2010 04:15 PM

There have been tons of people complaining about different problems with the different ATI cards (even a couple with that same card) This fixed it for some of them

"turn off dynamic lighting and turn on vsync"

If you post your stats from that website I linked it could help.

Archived Post 01-30-2010 07:32 PM

I've read users saying turning on vertical sync and turning off Dynamic Lighting fixed their problem. But it makes no change to the full screen graphical errors I experience.

Here are the results from the website:

CPU
Recommended: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 or AMD Athlon X2 5600+
You Have: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor
PASS

RAM
Recommended: 2 GB
You Have: 8.0 GB
PASS

OS
Recommended: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
You Have: Microsoft Windows 7 (Build 7600)
PASS

Video Card
Recommended: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 / ATI Radeon HD 3850+
You Have: ATI display adapter (0x68B8)
PASS
Features: Recommended attributes of your Video Card
Required You Have
Video RAM 256 MB 3.7 GB
Hardware T&L Yes Yes
Pixel Shader version 3.0 4.0
Vertex Shader version 3.0 4.0

Sound Card
Recommended: Yes
You Have: High Definition Audio Device
PASS

Free Disk Space
Recommended: 8 GB Free Disk Space
You Have: 37.4 GB
PASS


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 AM.