Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Gameplay Bug Reports (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Away mission crashes (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=89740)

Archived Post 01-30-2010 03:56 AM

Away mission crashes
 
I have had this problem since closed beta! It has happened during the away missions of Starbase 24 (crashed 3 times!) and during Stop the Signal (crashed once). The game stutters for a little bit and then it says the gameclient has crashed. It seems to only happen when there is a lot going on and ONLY during away missions - e.g. 3 of us throw grenades, lots of other people being knocked back/firing weapons etc.

If I move the mouse and look in the opposite direction, the game is fine. Seems like there is an error in the game engine. Have bugged this many times, even since closed beta. I know I am NOT the only one with this problem.

Important specs:
Q9550
ATI 5970
8Gb Ram
W7 64Bit

Archived Post 01-30-2010 04:02 AM

Same here - never experienced it in the OB but i crashed once on the ss azura ground section and just when i beamed down to the starbase.

Key specs (very similar to OPs specs):
win7 64bit
ati 5970
6gb ram
core i7 920

Archived Post 02-13-2010 12:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptainRAVE (Post 1771723)
I have had this problem since closed beta! It has happened during the away missions of Starbase 24 (crashed 3 times!) and during Stop the Signal (crashed once). The game stutters for a little bit and then it says the gameclient has crashed. It seems to only happen when there is a lot going on and ONLY during away missions - e.g. 3 of us throw grenades, lots of other people being knocked back/firing weapons etc.

If I move the mouse and look in the opposite direction, the game is fine. Seems like there is an error in the game engine. Have bugged this many times, even since closed beta. I know I am NOT the only one with this problem.

Important specs:
Q9550
ATI 5970
8Gb Ram
W7 64Bit

I run a I7 920, 12 gig DDR, w/ 5970. My processor temp generally stays around 30-35C and the video card GPU's never go above 60C which is well within reasonable temps for the card when under stress, yet ONLY in ground missions I crash to desktop often and frequently...in others not at all. However in space it's 100% stable. Any clues?

Archived Post 02-13-2010 01:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SolisFate
I run a I7 920, 12 gig DDR, w/ 5970. My processor temp generally stays around 30-35C and the video card GPU's never go above 60C which is well within reasonable temps for the card when under stress, yet ONLY in ground missions I crash to desktop often and frequently...in others not at all. However in space it's 100% stable. Any clues?

Number of object lights down to 2 (or even turn dynamic lights completely off) fixes this. Only required for away team missions.

Archived Post 02-14-2010 06:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptainRAVE (Post 2072597)
Number of object lights down to 2 (or even turn dynamic lights completely off) fixes this. Only required for away team missions.

Thanks. It fixed the issue completely.

Archived Post 02-15-2010 03:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SolisFate
Thanks. It fixed the issue completely.

Excellent :)

Bump for other people with the issue - Cryptic, any word on this problem?

Archived Post 02-15-2010 06:23 PM

Ground Missions Crash
 
Win 7 (64) with 6GB Ram, i7 920, ATI 5770...

crashes on every away mission! Can't play any mission longer than 15 minutes before I crash to the desktop and have to do a huge memory dump via the error tracker. This is very frustrating! Any help until crypic can get their crap together and make a game that doesn't crash all the time?

Archived Post 02-16-2010 02:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by frankless (Post 2103633)
Win 7 (64) with 6GB Ram, i7 920, ATI 5770...

crashes on every away mission! Can't play any mission longer than 15 minutes before I crash to the desktop and have to do a huge memory dump via the error tracker. This is very frustrating! Any help until crypic can get their crap together and make a game that doesn't crash all the time?

Go into graphics options - set the number of object lights to 2.

Archived Post 02-16-2010 10:19 AM

Quote:

Number of object lights down to 2 (or even turn dynamic lights completely off) fixes this. Only required for away team missions.
:D Sweet, been looking for a fix. I have this issue with a ATI 5870 series card as well. Will test tonight. Any ideas Cryptic?

Archived Post 02-16-2010 11:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptainRAVE (Post 2072597)
Number of object lights down to 2 (or even turn dynamic lights completely off) fixes this. Only required for away team missions.

Bump for others who may find this useful - Cryptic, fix the ATI issues!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29 AM.