Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Mac: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=411)
-   -   Mac Minimum System Requirements (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=910231)

pwebranflakes 11-11-2013 12:00 PM

Mac Minimum System Requirements
 
Mac Minimum System Requirements:

  • Operating System: Mac OS X 10.7.5 or later
  • CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo
  • RAM: 4GB+
  • Hard Disk: 10GB Free Disk Space
  • Graphic Display: Intel HD3000 / Nvidia 9600M / AMD HD2600 with 256MB+ VRAM
  • Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required

storobertpraetor 11-11-2013 01:03 PM

Welp...

I have a 2010 MacBook Pro and it doesn't look like its going to cut it...

tobar26th 11-11-2013 01:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by storobertpraetor (Post 13380051)
Welp...

I have a 2010 MacBook Pro and it doesn't look like its going to cut it...

Sadly it won't - those core 2 duo chips sadly don't cut the mustard vs the Core i Chips. That said My i5 MacBook Air can run STO under Boot camp, albeit badly so what's the worst that can happen if you donwload and it doesn't work.

stevencentaurai 11-11-2013 01:26 PM

I have a 3-year-old iMac with only 2Gb of RAM.

Shame. I don't think I will be able to play the beta very well. :(

bclark09 11-11-2013 01:29 PM

These specs confuse the hell out of me. I get that there's a difference between the two sides, but the minimum requirements on Windows are a Core 2 Duo at 1.8 Ghz, meanwhile the Mac side says you need an iSeries at 2.4 Ghz *minimum*? That's a significant jump in processing power for something that runs like glass on the BootCamp side already.

Hoping they're being overwhelmingly optimistic with those minimum requirements.

dogmaticus 11-11-2013 01:47 PM

I'm not very fluent with mac specs, but it seems to me that my Macbook Air 2013 will not be able to play STO :(. It's strange, because I can play GW2 or EVE easily :(.

I just hope that it's me not understanding specs ;)... that would make me much happier ;).

philipclayberg 11-11-2013 01:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pwebranflakes (Post 13378591)
Mac Minimum System Requirements:

  • Operating System: Mac OS X 10.7.5 or later
  • CPU: Intel Dual Core Xeon 3.0 GHz / Intel Core i Series 2.4 GHz
  • RAM: 4GB+
  • Hard Disk: 10GB Free Disk Space
  • Graphic Display: Intel HD3000 / Nvidia 9600M / AMD HD2600 with 256MB+ VRAM
  • Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required

I have OS X 10.9. Check.
I have 2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo. No check?
I have 4 GB RAM. No check?
I have more than 10 GB HD space free. Check.
I have Nvidia 9400M with 256MB VRAM. No check?
I have Internet Broadband Connection. Check.

Am I out of luck?

philipclayberg 11-11-2013 02:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stevencentaurai (Post 13380681)
I have a 3-year-old iMac with only 2Gb of RAM.

Shame. I don't think I will be able to play the beta very well. :(

It should be able to upgrade to at least 4 GB RAM, if the bottom of the monitor/computer looks anything like my 2007 iMac (not the one I'd use for STO). If you can't do the upgrade yourself, take it to Geek Squad at Best Buy and see if they can increase the RAM to 4 GB. I should do that with my iMac, if only so that it can upgrade to Snow Leopard (it's currently using Leopard).

darramouss1 11-11-2013 02:32 PM

Hey there.

My system is a 2008 Mac Pro with 2 Quad Cores (8 cores) at 2.8 GHz, 16 GB RAM with a more than ample graphics card. Does anyone know whether my processor will suffice? It's not a 3.0 twin but I'm hoping 8 cores at 2.8 will do the trick.

Can anyone help me with an answer?

jonathanlonehawk 11-11-2013 02:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by darramouss1 (Post 13382241)
Hey there.

My system is a 2008 Mac Pro with 2 Quad Cores (8 cores) at 2.8 GHz, 16 GB RAM with a more than ample graphics card. Does anyone know whether my processor will suffice? It's not a 3.0 twin but I'm hoping 8 cores at 2.8 will do the trick.

Can anyone help me with an answer?

It better...

Anyway. Can someone answer why a 1.8 GHz C2D is okay for the windows version but not the mac? Also why 10.7.5? Is the software using something in that that isn't in 10.6.8 to run?

'Cause if so, then I can't run it no matter how powerful the CPU I have is.

Thanks!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.