Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Foundry for Star Trek Online - Bug Reports (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=212)
-   -   Unable to edit foundry (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=961351)

illuminatispy 12-19-2013 05:20 PM

Unable to edit foundry
 
I'm unable to edit foundry missions.

The foundry just sits at the "Waiting for editing server to start up and patching foundry updates." screen until my account times out.

I've included a link to the screen I'm stuck at because every time I report this problem I'm told to "disable on demand updates." Which I have done or some one says " the foundry is fine I can access it."

I can get to the foundry just fine, I just can't do anything.

I have 15 of 16 available slots and 1 slot taken but I can't edit.

http://i.imgur.com/uJ15wF7.jpg

kirksplat 12-19-2013 05:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by illuminatispy (Post 14132951)
I'm unable to edit foundry missions.

The foundry just sits at the "Waiting for editing server to start up and patching foundry updates." screen until my account times out.

I've included a link to the screen I'm stuck at because every time I report this problem I'm told to "disable on demand updates." Which I have done or some one says " the foundry is fine I can access it."

I can get to the foundry just fine, I just can't do anything.

I have 15 of 16 available slots and 1 slot taken but I can't edit.

http://i.imgur.com/uJ15wF7.jpg

Try starting a new project and load into it. Then, go back and see if you can get in the first one.

illuminatispy 12-19-2013 06:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kirksplat (Post 14133291)
Try starting a new project and load into it. Then, go back and see if you can get in the first one.

Nope, same problem. Just sits at that screen till my account times out and logs me out.

kirksplat 12-19-2013 07:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by illuminatispy (Post 14134271)
Nope, same problem. Just sits at that screen till my account times out and logs me out.

Hmm.. OK try closing down STO, relaunching, and force verifying your files. There is an option to do that in the launcher before hitting engage.

kirksplat 12-19-2013 07:16 PM

Also, the same thing happened to HippieJohn. Castmodean told him to delete the contents of this folder:

Users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios\star trek online\Star Trek Online\Live\Data

But not the folder itself.

Doing this solved this issue for HippieJohn. I will leave it up to you to trust it or not, since I don't understand the reason behind it, other than maybe there is a corrupt file in there.

markhawkman 12-19-2013 09:13 PM

IIRC the issue was that there was a corrupt file but for whatever reason the updater would miss it if you chose "force verify". :(

lincolninspace 12-19-2013 09:35 PM

The game has been hanging at the load screens for me and the foundry hangs when I try to enter preview. It doesn't help that 2 of my characters are on esd though.

starswordc 12-19-2013 09:41 PM

The other possibility is network issues. How to diagnose them.

I've also sometimes found that the Steam client does a better job at force verify than the Cryptic launcher does. I've even sometimes gone so far as to outright uninstall and reinstall.

crypticfrost 12-20-2013 11:44 AM

Try the suggestions from Kirk and Starsword. Hopefully one of those will help. If not, let me know your @handle and I'll see what I can do when I get back from vacation.

castsbugc 12-20-2013 11:52 AM

yeah if you are like me and have to slog through cogent's backbone (and your isp hasnt <redacted> them out for restricting traffic) it will cause MAJOR issues. Easy way to tell, how fast do you patch on average on a given patch day? I found when cogent was causing me issues I was getting about 0.1Mb per second in download speed


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 AM.