Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Graphical and Sound Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   ATI Artifacts/Flickering (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=98516)

Archived Post 02-02-2010 10:56 AM

ATI Artifacts/Flickering
 
I have an ATI Radeon 3600.

Right now the game is totally unplayable. Game loads fine, once Im in though my screen is covered with multicolored and black boxes. Strangely enough, when I look straight up or straight down, they go away!

I've tried turning off dynamic lights and post processing. Turning off Dynamic Lights does nothing and turning off Post Processing clears the majority of the multi colored boxes though the black boxes remain.

I've heard that this is now the case for a good portion of ATI users though in beta (which I wasnt around for) everything was fine. What's the deal?

I suppose I'll call their tech support later or something.

A Dev or Forum Mod response would go a long way here. I have yet to see ANY in response to this problem.

Archived Post 02-02-2010 11:00 AM

See other thread... no usable answer, only workarounds which donīt seem to work for all users...

Archived Post 02-02-2010 11:21 AM

Post your dxdiag using pastebin.com and post a screenshot here for reference.

Also remember, you have a pretty underpowered card for this game. It most certainly may run, but it might give you errors.

Archived Post 02-02-2010 11:41 AM

Sorry, Radeon HD 3600.

Yes, it's old anyway, but runs other games just fine and with good settings.

Besides the major artifacting etc. STO runs fine. Isn't stuttery or slow, doesn't take long to load either.

Archived Post 02-02-2010 12:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by IronCzar
Sorry, Radeon HD 3600.

Yes, it's old anyway, but runs other games just fine and with good settings.

Besides the major artifacting etc. STO runs fine. Isn't stuttery or slow, doesn't take long to load either.

It might well run other games, but STO is one of the more "next-gen" type games. It stress's your system a lot, and if your system cant handle that stress.......

If you posted your dxdiag log and a screenshot if possible, we would be able to help you much easier. Vague descriptions can only go so far.

Archived Post 02-02-2010 12:15 PM

actually i get a flickering/artifact's normally i can fix it by clicking default and then redoing settings.
had it happern a few times, with and without messing with advance settings
running 2x 4850's 1gb's in crossfire

Archived Post 02-02-2010 02:57 PM

Same issue here i've got a new HD5770 Mass effect 2 runs smooth so ...:(

Archived Post 02-03-2010 12:29 AM

I had the same problem at first with my 5870. After I updated the drivers, all was well. I suggest people go to the ATI site and update, which was a 70 mb download for me.

Archived Post 02-03-2010 02:06 AM

Good Advice....but I have the latest drivers (10.1) unless they updated since yesterday :-(

What I donīt get is why thereīs never a reaction based on the fact that the beta didnīt cause any artifacts... Iīm no expert, but I guess the engine hasnīt changed since last friday, so provided the "powerful" engine is causing the trouble it schould have been earlier ?

Archived Post 02-03-2010 02:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tedgp123 (Post 1878196)
It might well run other games, but STO is one of the more "next-gen" type games. It stress's your system a lot, and if your system cant handle that stress.......

If you posted your dxdiag log and a screenshot if possible, we would be able to help you much easier. Vague descriptions can only go so far.

What if Crysis works fine? And Dragon age, Mass Effect 2, LotRO etc..

Set aside LotRO, which by teh way has the "better Graphics" for me, these arenīt old.school engines, are they?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:11 AM.