Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Controls, User Interface, and the STO Gateway (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   BOff's Power Trainer NPC - Sorting Suggestion (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=99989)

Archived Post 02-03-2010 01:52 AM

BOff's Power Trainer NPC - Sorting Suggestion
 
This mess must go, it's totally userunfriendly.

Right now it's sorted this way:

Ensign, Powers sorted ascending after name
Lt., Powers sorted ascending after name
Lt.Cmdr, Powers sorted ascending after name
Cmdr., Powers sorted ascending after name
Cpt., Powers sorted ascending after name

better solution would be:

Ensign

+ Space Powers
++ Science Officer
--- Power 1
--- Power 2
--- Power 3

++ Engineering Officer
--- Power 1
--- Power 2
--- Power 3

++ Tactical Officer
--- Power 1
--- Power 2
--- Power 3


+ Ground Powers
++ Science Officer
--- Power 1
--- Power 2
--- Power 3

++ Engineering Officer
--- Power 1
--- Power 2
--- Power 3

++ Tactical Officer
--- Power 1
--- Power 2
--- Power 3


with "Space Powers", "Ground Powers" being collapsible. Science, Engineer, and Tactical too.

for each rank, Lt., Lt.Cmdr, Cmdr. and Capt.

I know, very, very verbose but also very, very userfriendly. A good trade-off, no?

Archived Post 02-03-2010 02:09 AM

I agree! It's very messy atm, and sometimes when you click an ability it snaps the window down or up, forcing you to have to scroll back and find what you just clicked on.

Archived Post 02-03-2010 06:56 AM

bumpity, anyone else agree?

Archived Post 02-03-2010 10:59 AM

I was about to post this very same thing.

Full on agreement.

Archived Post 02-03-2010 11:28 AM

Here's with what I can live with too:

Create 2 NPC's. One for Ground BOffs Powers, one for Space BOffs Powers and use this listing scheme:

http://stowiki.org/wiki/Bridge_officer_abilities

It really shouldn't require user to alt+tab to google to check the powers faster.

Archived Post 02-03-2010 11:54 AM

Missed this one. Absolutely agree, this mess has to go.

Archived Post 02-03-2010 12:13 PM

I agree - it takes quite a bit longer than necessary to train a skill unless I've already looked it up outside of the game.

Archived Post 02-05-2010 11:01 AM

/bumpity to keep it alive for the devs to see ;)

Archived Post 02-05-2010 03:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slough-3yeZ
bumpity, anyone else agree?

Yes. Oh, yes!

Archived Post 02-05-2010 07:12 PM

I posted exactly the same as a Suggestion in a /bug that I sent during Open beta. There is still a bug with that trainer that when you mouseover a chosen power, the tool tip shows for the power below the chosen one.

so /Agree with the OP!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:27 PM.