View Single Post
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
02-03-2010, 01:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by spandexjustice
And let me explain why this is bad (as I did when people complained on Champions Online).

Imagine that you have a little brother/sister/enemy. You leave yourself logged onto your less cool Ensign Mule to play with your inventory and you go to get a coke.

While you are gone, your bro/sis/enemy goes over to your computer and casually logs you out: if this leaves them in the character select screen, then can go amok and delete EVERY one of your characters. Even Captain Big Time Super Cruiser and His Amazing Phaser Mark VVVs.

If however, logging out takes you to a login page, they must know your password to do any damage.

That, my friends, is why the login should NOT be changed. It's annoying enough that it automatically fills in your password at time when you log out.

They could, of course, just have passwords needed when characters are deleted. That would work.
Good point in that it could do damage. If the log out option had a pop up screen that stated would you like to change characters? then a yes or no button, that would help slow that bad hypothetical idea down.



I do know that in order to delete your character all you have to do is key in the characters name for confirmation. If we took your idea of the password so the UI would then have the user key in his or her character name then their account password, that could help deter that problem of characters being wiped out by a sibling.