View Single Post
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10 Does Auto Save really work??
12-05-2010, 06:43 AM
Hi,
I've been working on my mission for a while now, put at lot of time in and all that... so this is starting to get anoying.. (yes i know it's beta so do expect bugs - but they can still be anoying !!)..

So i create a mission.. play test and it's working.. cool.. i click on the save button bottom left of the screen.. it's all good

Now i want to change some of the text from "blah blah" to the actual mission text.. save it... play test.. and it's all fine... rinse and repeat..

fast forward 30 mins or so.. added a few things to the map, changed the text, added objectives... save the game after each bigish change.. play test and the changes work frine... I've even got the little tick next to publish, and 0 errors in the task list..

Some times the machine can either seem to hang for no apparent reason, mouse not work.. sound goes juddery.. (though the ping to google i had running to check if it was my connection to t'internet keeps going ok at 32ms) .. If i just leave it the machine for 20 - 30 seconds it comes back to life.. this can happen when going to play test mission/map or just changeing from the map tab to the story tab..

Anyway at some point i get kicked out of the Foundry, and have to log back in..

I get in and chose the project i was working on and say edit project.. when it finaly loads up I get a message saying the the autosave is newer than the last save do i want load that instead??

I say yes... then when i look at the map, and the story. and i've gone back in time!!
The project is back 30 mins or an hour the text is back the the "blah blah".. all the bits i added to the stry are gone... but all the bits i removed are back.... the bits in the enviroment that have taken ages to position just right have vanished !!!

....but.. but.. but..

i've been saving all along... I've even played the mission with all the updates in and it worked fine.. and the save button tells me its all upto date (before the crash).... but it's all gone!!

So whats happening???
Any one else getting the same or am i just the lucky one ????
Are the dev's rolling back the snap shot on the cluster???

And yes I know its beta...

Cheers