View Single Post
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 237
# 39
12-14-2012, 09:26 PM
The simple solution is if you change character or logout or close the game it closes your session. You know, like when you logout of a terminal or windows or whatever. Logout scripts run, and clean up the session and *poof*, the session is ended.

A disconnect could be handled by looking to see if a lock file or something is still there, meaning no clean logout, and put you back RIGHT WHERE YOU WERE, with all the stats, life/shields, and location. If you don't reconnect in 5 minutes, then it should force a true full logout.

The fact that the game does NOT do this already seems to be a potential security risk. Leaving sessions open after a logout is not safe.