Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Patcher Crash
02-03-2010, 11:56 AM
I bought a copy of STO from the store yesterday, installed it and attempted to launch the game. After a couple of secounds I got the message:

CrypticError: Oops!
Oops! Your Cryptic Application has crashed. To help us out, please indicate what was going on at the time of the crash, while we gather information.

I then typed :
Crashed while lauching the game.


and then attempted to look on the net and forums for a possible solution. After reading all i could on crashes related to the game I updated my video card, sound card, direct x, reinstalled the game twice, turned off my firewall, unhooked it from the router and pluged it into the modem, and defraged my hard drive. After all that did not work I gave up for the night.

This morning I decided to try agian and got the same error. My Error code ID for this error is:
2040681

If anyone has a way of fixing the bug I would appreciate it because I would realy like to play the game
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2 Patcher Crash
02-03-2010, 03:19 PM
So no one has any info on how to fix this.... not a simple "just down load this verson of the patcher" ?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3 same here
02-03-2010, 06:05 PM
i have the same problem...i'm glad to say that i'm not the only one with this but i'm sorry we all have to go throught it i guess i will be playing world of ******** tonight
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-03-2010, 06:10 PM
This is a crash deep inside the MSHTML library. Please download and run the latest IE8 installer to be sure your installation isn't corrupted.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5 Patcher Crash
02-03-2010, 08:27 PM
I reinstalled IE8 as suggested but I got the same error message, so I reinstalled STO to see if that would help but no the code for that error is the same as the first I gave:
2040681
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-04-2010, 01:28 PM
Tried agian to day with reinstalling IE8 and still no go.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-04-2010, 01:42 PM
By any chance do you have Webshots installed (http://blog.webshots.com/?p=1017)? Looks like some kind of screenshot tool.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-04-2010, 02:31 PM
edit - del .
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-04-2010, 04:50 PM
No sir, I do not have Webshots on my computer..... need all the ram I can get for my gameing addiction LOL
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-04-2010, 04:55 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skoren
No sir, I do not have Webshots on my computer..... need all the ram I can get for my gameing addiction LOL
You might want to check your machine for agcutils.dll anyway, all the instances of that crash I opened up were because of that DLL.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 PM.