Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
The latest patch has introduced what on my system can only be described as "Always On Top". You see, I'm a programmer. I like to program. I program for money. It was that I was working while playing this game (not playing the game when working because it's more during my free time I play, get something in my head that needs coding and go code it real quick then resume). But now I can't do that. I can't multitask because the game's window won't let anything, not Scintilla, not Firefox, nothing be ontop of the window.

Thank you Cryptic. You've crucified a harmless cosmetic feature, gypped my husband and I out of what we paid for (and we paid a lot). And now you've unilaterally decided what I can and cannot do with my time while the game is running. How considerate of you.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-04-2010, 12:00 PM
Please say this isn't true...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-04-2010, 12:00 PM
It isn't always on top for me. Perhaps you are doing it wrong.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-04-2010, 12:03 PM
Honestly... if it's that important to have the game up while you do practical things, just get a second monitor. It's more efficient anyhow since you can use all of each screen for separate purposes.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-04-2010, 12:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ynp7 View Post
It isn't always on top for me. Perhaps you are doing it wrong.
lmfao to that ^

still updating but I hope this isn't true, I do the same multi task while flying to a system or around in sector space....
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-04-2010, 12:05 PM
Holy moly I hope that isnt true. Aint a game breaker for me, but there's been MAANNNYYY times I have had to alt+tab so I can go check something online, such as directions for a family member, fleet-chat room because server was acting odd, etc.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-04-2010, 12:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanaDark View Post
Holy moly I hope that isnt true. Aint a game breaker for me, but there's been MAANNNYYY times I have had to alt+tab so I can go check something online, such as directions for a family member, fleet-chat room because server was acting odd, etc.
I do that all the time without issue. If the new sector has finished loading before I get back, the game is usually sitting at a screen that says something like "Sector Loaded, press any key to continue." I thought that was an awesome feature.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-04-2010, 12:11 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanaDark View Post
Holy moly I hope that isnt true. Aint a game breaker for me, but there's been MAANNNYYY times I have had to alt+tab so I can go check something online, such as directions for a family member, fleet-chat room because server was acting odd, etc.
Alt-tab is different than what they're talking about, I think. I think they're referring to Windowed Mode in which you could literally have a non-maximized window sitting on top of STO, and you can see STO behind it.

Alt-tab... well at least for me... swaps the window completely; STO minimizes so I can see other things- it's no longer visible anywhere on screen.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-04-2010, 12:11 PM
OMG.. ya'll spent $1200 on a MMO? I'm sure that includes 2 lifetime subscriptions.. Enjoy But still.. WOWZERS..
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-04-2010, 12:13 PM
I can alt-tab out fine and dandy. Lately, I've been noticing that on certain programs it stays running in the background, rather than just minimising (maybe something I've done, rather than the game) - but I can still run FireFox and MSN convos over it just fine.

In fact, having it in the background while doing so is quite handy - as it means I can chat on MSN while travelling between systems. :p

The game doesn't really allow you to get stuck into doing anything else while you're playing, anyway though. If you're idle for more than 15 minutes, you get booted. You're just as well actually just closing down the game and doing work if you need to do it.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 PM.