Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Hi Guys, I've spent 20 mins doing searches on the forums looking for this, but have been unsuccessful. there is a wealth of information on these forums, but sometimes finding the post that contains what you are looking for can be difficult.

I don;t understand Bridgeofficers and their slots. what slots does each class of ship have? and how are they set up?

I am in the cruiser line right now. my first cruiser had 1 tactical, 2 eng and 1 science.
my heavy cruiser seems to allow 1 tachtical, 2 eng and also 1 sciece. just the tactical an science is now lieutenant grade, and the 1 eng is lt commander grade.

but my ship itself has slots for 3 eng consoles. so shouldn;t I have 3 eng officers? or do the slots have nothing to do with the BO's? i

is there a list anywhere of what slots are availible on each rank of ship. for example when I get to level 31 and become a captian, how many slots will I have for each of science, ENG and tactical. it seems I have Sooo many BO points, and really no use for them, and I really only have 4 officers and they are maxed out. most of them have more abilitys then my ship will let them use. Am I doing something wrong?

Should I be using the points to train up a bunch of new guys? will my captian cruiser open up a new slot for science and tactical and eng? or what should i expect?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-08-2010, 07:12 AM
Look here
http://sto-builder.binarybit.ch/inde...9---_4-47-80--

Select your ship and you can see what type of BO you will have
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-08-2010, 07:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radiozo View Post
Look here
http://sto-builder.binarybit.ch/inde...9---_4-47-80--

Select your ship and you can see what type of BO you will have
hmmm link seems broken. I'll try again later and see if it comes up. thanks for your reply though
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-08-2010, 07:32 AM
Basically the console count isn't directly linked to the number of officers. The number and make up of the officers depends (after the Lt Rank) on which ship you select:

Cruisers have 2 Engineering Officers
Science Ships have 2 Science Officers
Escorts have 2 Tactical Officers

In addition to this as you level your officers get additional commands. At Lt all your stations are Ensign beacause you can't promote officers to your rank only the rank below it. At Lt Commander you can promote your officers to Lt so it is possible to have a Lt Station which you get one of in the profession for that ship. (Cruiser will have 1 Ensign Engineer and 1 Lt Engineer) and so on. In each rank you have at least one station in the primary profession of that ship that will have a ranked station at one rank below yours.

There are reasons to have multiple officers though, one is choice in which ship you want to operate and choices in the skills you want to have in your ship or in your away missions. Some situations might call for one skill while others might call for another. In any event there is no real cost to filling up those slots and since your Bridge Officer skill points don't currently cap you can always train up new officers.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-08-2010, 07:40 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocSavag View Post
Basically the console count isn't directly linked to the number of officers. The number and make up of the officers depends (after the Lt Rank) on which ship you select:

Cruisers have 2 Engineering Officers
Science Ships have 2 Science Officers
Escorts have 2 Tactical Officers

In addition to this as you level your officers get additional commands. At Lt all your stations are Ensign beacause you can't promote officers to your rank only the rank below it. At Lt Commander you can promote your officers to Lt so it is possible to have a Lt Station which you get one of in the profession for that ship. (Cruiser will have 1 Ensign Engineer and 1 Lt Engineer) and so on. In each rank you have at least one station in the primary profession of that ship that will have a ranked station at one rank below yours.

There are reasons to have multiple officers though, one is choice in which ship you want to operate and choices in the skills you want to have in your ship or in your away missions. Some situations might call for one skill while others might call for another. In any event there is no real cost to filling up those slots and since your Bridge Officer skill points don't currently cap you can always train up new officers.
Great Points thanks for the input. much appreciated.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-08-2010, 07:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radiozo View Post
Look here
http://sto-builder.binarybit.ch/inde...9---_4-47-80--

Select your ship and you can see what type of BO you will have
Got it to work. very helpful link. although dissapointing. I was hoping that eventially my higherend cruiser might have 3 or even 4 eng officers. and a couple science and tactical. at least it oks like I will have lots of points to spend on officers to swap them out and try different skills so at least that is a plus.

thanks for the info.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 AM.