Lt. Commander
I haven't been playing the game forever; I joined in with the OB along with some friends. For reference as to where I'm coming from here, I've got a QA background, including some professional, paid years as a QA guy for some LARGE game companies. Boy am I glad I don't do THAT anymore.

First up: I have no real first-hand knowledge of how Cryptic's engine really works. I have lots of conjecture and observational evidence, but I've never seen so much as a line of source.

Getting that out of the way: It seems evident that there are plentiful issues remaining (as is always the case with a newly-launched MMO) and many of these issues scream for attention from various users. I'm raising some points about 'misfires' and what I (think) the cause is.

To lay things out, we're all familiar with 'rubberbanding', where you'll be walking/running or flying your ship and then you'll get jerked back and spring forward. I am fairly certain this is caused by the way the game handles discrepancies between the server state and the client state, and the way latency makes this handling obvious.

The client keeps doing what you tell it (run forward, turn left, etc) and at regular intervals it updates the server and receives confirmation of what's been done. When these things don't agree it seems like the server state is the 'trusted' state. It's the least advantageous assumption to make for the player and results in the greatest immediate inconvenience, but it also prevents a hacked client or third party memory editor from allowing cheats (such as instantly changing ship-facing to protect a shield in combat, even in a Tier 4 cruiser, or perhaps instantly moving from one end of a sector space zone to another instantly). Some degree of 'distrust' for the client state is required for a sane game that wasn't to keep cheating and exploiting of this nature in check.