Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
On the ground side, I'm getting these "block shadows" in the envrionment. Toggling the light quality from low to high appears to fix it for a short time, but then it usually happens again within a few minutes. I tried to leave the light quality on low and then high for a while and it doesn't matter, it still happens. I have shadows turned off. I'll post some pics to give an example, maybe some others have the same problem.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-22-2010, 04:26 PM
Ok, here is an example of lighting problem:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e6...ualityBug1.jpg


I will go into video settings, down to Light Quality and toggle from low to high and it will correct it. I have to do this all the time though.

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e6...ualityBug2.jpg
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-22-2010, 05:21 PM
same exact problem here. hope this gets resolved soon. my game looks like a disco with all this light flickering going on.

im running dual Geforce 8600 GTS cards. SLI is disabled.

my dxdiag:

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 2/22/2010, 20:25:34
Machine name:
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: NVIDIA
System Model: AWRDACPI
BIOS: )Phoenix - Award WorkstationBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+ (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3838MB RAM
Page File: 4380MB used, 3295MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 32bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 8600 GTS
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0400&SUBSYS_C7613842&REV_A1
Display Memory: 1904 MB
Dedicated Memory: 241 MB
Shared Memory: 1663 MB
Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (59Hz)
Monitor Name: ViewSonic VX2235wm
Monitor Model: VX2235wm
Monitor Id: VSC591E
Native Mode: 1680 x 1050(p) (59.954Hz)
Output Type: DVI
Driver Name: nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,n vwgf2um,nvwgf2um
Driver File Version: 8.17.0011.9621 (English)
Driver Version: 8.17.11.9621
DDI Version: 10
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 1/11/2010 23:03:33, 11862120 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-4740-11CF-677E-6AE71FC2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x0400
SubSys ID: 0xC7613842
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Driver Strong Name: oem18.inf:NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.1:Section0 03:8.17.11.9621:pci\ven_10de&dev_0400
Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C ModeVC1_C ModeWMV9_C
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-22-2010, 06:05 PM
Hey there!

I wanted to drop in and let you know this bug has been a hot topic of conversation for awhile today. In other words, we're looking into a fix for this already.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-22-2010, 06:32 PM
How about things like this?

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1044396/Star...2-14-02-25.jpg

The fluorescent ceiling lights have a visible solid edge, as if the light itself was a solid object. This is seen on many, many exploration missions that require you to go into some sort of facility. Also the lighting in general on these maps appears like there's a hard pinlight shining down on the models, no real ambient lighting from the sides. It makes for a hard contrast in shadows. Additionally, the lighting on most of the interior exploration maps looks like it affects the health bar portraits as well as the mission update headshots too.

(there are other things going on in this pic, such as the dual pistols not aligning with the right hand on idle animations, and the memory alpha armor not displaying on BO's, but that's for another thread)

Also, in this shot:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1044396/Star...0-14-19-59.jpg

This is from another interior exploration mission, and again a very common tileset, but I'm beginning to think this is a texture error. The models are the same set used in Memory Alpha, but it looks like the textures are all color negatives of that tileset. As an aside, I'm not sure if this is how it's supposed to work, but could we get some more variety in the color palettes for these structures, I'm not digging the Galactic Standard of a Cyan/Teal color scheme.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-22-2010, 08:17 PM
Yeah, lighting and shadows are really messed up. There is too much darkness. It seems lights don't "shine" but shadows are cast over everything. IE, you can't face your character towards a light source and see the brightness, but any sort of shadow will always drape over them.

I compensate by turning up brightness to around 140% but that only makes light blooms painful to see.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-23-2010, 02:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Direphoenix View Post
I can confirm both problems, the second one happened yesterday in every single research laboratory I entered in the Khazan Cluster (the were no other missions there but "investigate research labs" and all of them had the same interior graphics - derived from memory alpha - and were just different by layout. I even got one and the same mission twice in a row, just space graphics and station layout were different). I could also see, that the display of the floor graphics changed when I entered the corridors. It looked like a heavily overdone bloom effect to me, something that I already filed as a bug in OB. I reduced bloom level in the settings, but to no avail. When I really entered the corridors they got their overdone lighing effects that were okay when I looked at them from the nearby room.

The first one happened to me first day in OB and I filed a bug report.

Additionally the portraits of my BOs in the crew list to the left and in the character detail screen (K-key) are often way too dark when in stations or caves (even very bright ones as in the bugs described above) so you can nearly not make them out. This is only cosmetic, but should be worked on.

I'm on Win XP Pro SP 3 on a quadcore intel 9550 with Asus mobo and ATI 4770 video card. I do not use the newest catalyst and do not intent to, as it interferes with other applications and older versions are confirmed as more stable in those cases.

I also agree that the lack of variation in the station interiors is highly annoying.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-23-2010, 10:00 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoxe
Hey there!

I wanted to drop in and let you know this bug has been a hot topic of conversation for awhile today. In other words, we're looking into a fix for this already.
YES! Finally, had this /bugged since beta
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-24-2010, 01:14 AM
I get the "unlit" areas a lot as well - I workaround it by hitting my "Transfer Power to Shield" skill, which resets the lighting for my immediate area... didn't know about changing the lighting settings, though.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 AM.