Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Hello,

i have often heard that cryptic is translating english names to german names ingame. So "Deepspace 9" is not "Deepspace 9" but "Tiefenraum 9".

This post is bout complaining about why you should consider to NOT to translate names, pls.

I m a big fan of Star Trek ever since i saw Kirk and Spok on tv. Never have the names beeing changed during translation from english to german.

I beg you, dont make the same mistake some other big corporation did and translate names from NPCs and Stations/Cities to german. Many ppl in germany actually do know "Deepspace 9" as it is a name and was never translated. And every night when i have time to play the game i hear the yelling bout the "wrong" names in the german version.

I for myself play everything on english.

I.E. you dont call Rom (italian city) any other name because you are living in the USA or Germany or Sweeden or else. Rom still is Rom. New York still is New York and not "Neues York" for a germans. Florida Beach still is Florida Beach and not "Florida Strand" for the germans.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-25-2010, 06:11 AM
Actually some names do translate, being only fluent in 2 languages I can only think of French examples.

California becomes "Californie"
England becomes "Angleterre"
Germany becomes "Allemagne"

I always assumed most languages just translate city and place names to suit their languages. However I can understand something like Star Trek needs no translation for any audience
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-25-2010, 07:00 AM
Umm yes they are translating them, but not what most people think. Users can select there perferred language. If yours is english then your fine, but if you choose german then well everything will be german.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-25-2010, 07:37 AM
Right, i should have written that only if you select german as ingame-language the names will be switched as is everything else.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-25-2010, 07:51 AM
yes "Tiefenraum 9", ugh
Deep Space 9 shouldnt be translated.

Although i switched to english language setting now anyway, because there are so many errors in the german one.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-25-2010, 09:03 AM
why would you play in German its practically initiligble
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 PM.