Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I am creating a mission where at the end you confront an alien. There are a few ways I can approach this but there is one way in particular I want to end this episode, so here is my question... If I created a bridge to have this final scene in, would this completly mess up my entire episode? Could anyone go along with it knowing their bridge doesn't look anything like the one I create? I played a mission where this happened and it worked for me. I would just like some suggestions on this before I publish then get blasted in reviews. Thanks
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
04-19-2011, 07:08 PM
IMO, the bridge is the most iconic place in Trek, and its a real shame Cryptic has designed the game in a way that they cant use it in their missions. So for me personally, I'd love to see it. But there are going to be some people who will of course say "ZOMG thats not mi bridge!!!!!!111". So your not going to get a definitive answer to this question. Do what YOU think feels right
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
04-19-2011, 07:31 PM
I struggled with this on the mission I'm working on. In the end I decided to make it so I beamed over to another ship's bridge. Unfortunately, this is not really possible in all situations. Using another bridge that isn't the players could be kind of weird. Knowing the Foundry's limitations, I'd be willing to "suspend disbelief" as part of the story, but I don't know how other people would react. A lot of people simply have no clue about the current limitations of the Foundry and how much effort we have to go through to work around them.

The bridge system definitely leaves something to be desired, but it really would take some effort on the part of Cryptic to solve it. The problem is each bridge layout is different, so you're going to need to place the enemies, interacts, and people working at consoles/etc in different places. In order for us to use the specific player's bridge, a completely modular system would have to be put in place, where you have certain predefined "slots" on each bridge where you can spawn certain NPCs, certain consoles that can be set to interact with, etc.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
04-19-2011, 07:37 PM
Do what several authors I've seen do, use the ready room and invisible wall it off. Not seeing a few trophies is a lot different than seeing some other bridge.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5 Bridge in mission.
04-19-2011, 08:39 PM
If you want a bridge scene in your mission then add it. Just make sure it gives something to the story... have NPC working and give the player an understanding of why he is there.
I put a bridge in my mission "Siege of YR318", because I felt it was an important part of the story I was trying to tell.

Is your mission up for Testing yet?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
04-20-2011, 03:13 AM
If you can't do something the correct way with the current Foundry tools, I wouldn't do it at all. Look for alternatives. If you don't find any alternatives, then drop the idea and make a new mission until the tools offer that functionality.

This is what I feel distinguishes the best Foundry content - the recognition that some ideas can't be represented.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
04-20-2011, 03:13 AM
If you can't do something the correct way with the current Foundry tools, I wouldn't do it at all. Look for alternatives. If you don't find any alternatives, then drop the idea and make a new mission until the tools offer that functionality.

This is what I feel distinguishes the best Foundry content - the recognition that some ideas can't be represented.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
04-20-2011, 07:02 PM
Like what others have already posted, easiest way is to do it in the ready room as it is more uniform than the bridge.

You can also try what Leviathan99 alluded to: use an NPC's bridge. By that I mean use a bridge of someone else's (NPC) captain. In my second mission in my series I really wanted a bridge scene but since I know there WILL be people who will not make that jump to make it "their bridge" I have the scene happen in an NPC ship's bridge instead.

Easy enough to do if you rendezvous with a colleague they invite you to beam over, etc. I know it's a plot change probably but a minor one.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 AM.