Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Fleet Name Fix Up Tomorrow
11-10-2011, 05:05 PM
Hi gang!

Last week during our maintenance we fixed a bug which was allowing people to create fleets using names which were already taken. Now that this bug has been fixed, we'll be running script tomorrow (Friday, November 11, 2011) to remove duplicate fleet names from the game.

What this means:

If you belong to a fleet which currently has a "shared" fleet name, your fleet name may be changed tomorrow when this script is ran.

If your fleet was the first one created using a given name, your fleet name will remain unchanged.

If your fleet was created using the same name as another fleet, after the original fleet using that name was created, your fleet name will be changed. As an example:
  • The First instance of [Fleet] will remain unchanged.
  • The second instance of [Fleet] will become [Fleet] B.
  • The third instance would become [Fleet] C, etc.

Fleet leaders, should your fleets name be changed during this fix up, and you are not happy with the new name provided, you may change your fleet name. Doing so is both easy, and free. To do so:
  1. Open the fleet window
  2. Click on the information tab
  3. Find your fleet's name in the top left, and click Edit
  4. Type in your desired new name, and then click save
  5. As long as your new fleet name is unique, and conforms to the TOS, it will be permitted.

Should you have any questions regarding this, or should you experience any difficulties renaming your fleet, please respond to this thread, and I will do my best to assist you.

Thanks,

Stormshade
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
11-10-2011, 05:13 PM
Will this also fix Fleets locked out from showing up in the Fleet Finder?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
11-10-2011, 06:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firix
Will this also fix Fleets locked out from showing up in the Fleet Finder?
Same question.

We have been locked out for 6 months while waiting for a fix on this.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
11-11-2011, 08:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enterprise-D View Post
Same question.

We have been locked out for 6 months while waiting for a fix on this.
Same with my own. Any word on a fix for this, Shade?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
11-11-2011, 10:24 AM
If the script is done running through the database by now then it didn't fix the "being locked out" issue
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
11-11-2011, 10:42 AM
Glad I'm not in one
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
12-02-2011, 07:42 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormShade
Hi gang!

Last week during our maintenance we fixed a bug which was allowing people to create fleets using names which were already taken. Now that this bug has been fixed, we'll be running script tomorrow (Friday, November 11, 2011) to remove duplicate fleet names from the game.

What this means:

If you belong to a fleet which currently has a "shared" fleet name, your fleet name may be changed tomorrow when this script is ran.

If your fleet was the first one created using a given name, your fleet name will remain unchanged.

If your fleet was created using the same name as another fleet, after the original fleet using that name was created, your fleet name will be changed. As an example:
  • The First instance of [Fleet] will remain unchanged.
  • The second instance of [Fleet] will become [Fleet] B.
  • The third instance would become [Fleet] C, etc.

Fleet leaders, should your fleets name be changed during this fix up, and you are not happy with the new name provided, you may change your fleet name. Doing so is both easy, and free. To do so:
  1. Open the fleet window
  2. Click on the information tab
  3. Find your fleet's name in the top left, and click Edit
  4. Type in your desired new name, and then click save
  5. As long as your new fleet name is unique, and conforms to the TOS, it will be permitted.

Should you have any questions regarding this, or should you experience any difficulties renaming your fleet, please respond to this thread, and I will do my best to assist you.

Thanks,

Stormshade
So how long has this error in creating fleet names been happening, Stormy? Forgive me, but I want in-game contact and I want the stardate the other fleet matching my fleet's name was created.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
12-02-2011, 08:54 AM
Perhaps old Fleets, now inactive, with the same name causing these issues?

Look here, the list of officially registered Fleets before game launch, in 2008.
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...t=9791&page=17

Took me all of 10 seconds to see another United Federation of Planets fleet and a 12th fleet
So, obviously, judging by your stated fleet ages, you are not the first to come up with that name, no matter how big you are now.

Just guessing, but since no one else seems to have an answer...

I just wonder how many of those fleets listed there are still alive...?
That would an interesting comparison.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
12-02-2011, 01:05 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBFLordKrueg View Post
Perhaps old Fleets, now inactive, with the same name causing these issues?

Look here, the list of officially registered Fleets before game launch, in 2008.
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...t=9791&page=17

Took me all of 10 seconds to see another United Federation of Planets fleet and a 12th fleet
So, obviously, judging by your stated fleet ages, you are not the first to come up with that name, no matter how big you are now.

Just guessing, but since no one else seems to have an answer...

I just wonder how many of those fleets listed there are still alive...?
That would an interesting comparison.
That 12th fleet is actually us.

We had the fleet and site up and running 6-7 months before the game went live.
We had in game fleet in Open beta and we re-created the fleet during the 1st few minutes of headstart so I seriously doubt there is another 12th Fleet in game that is older than ours.

I'm also pretty sure that the UFP that is currently in game is the same as the one you see on that list and share a similar story as the 12th.

Thankfully we haven't been renamed by this and it has been confirmed that the issue where some fleets are blocked from fleet searches will get fixed soon.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
12-02-2011, 01:12 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enterprise-D View Post
fleets are blocked from fleet searches will get fixed soon.
Soon TM you mean. I hate to say it but we get that a lot around here.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:31 AM.