Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I've tried to log in several times today and each time I click the launcher I get the "Trying to update" etc message, and after a few minutes the error "The patchclient got a message while it was in a state with no response function" crops up.
Tracert:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\System32>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms 85-211-128-1.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com [85.211.128.1]
3 30 ms 26 ms 26 ms xe-4-0-0.ner001.the.as13285.net [80.40.155.102]
4 28 ms 27 ms 26 ms 80.40.155.107
5 27 ms 27 ms 26 ms xe-10-3-0.bragg002.log.as13285.net [80.40.155.39]
6 53 ms 27 ms 28 ms xe-7-0-0.scr001.loh.as13285.net [80.40.155.62]
7 28 ms 27 ms 29 ms xe-4-2-0.lon25.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.64.9]
8 113 ms 114 ms 114 ms xe-1-2-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [89.149.183.13]
9 105 ms 103 ms 104 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
10 106 ms 105 ms 106 ms border11.te7-1-bbnet1.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.41]
11 110 ms 108 ms 108 ms cryptic-3.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
12 109 ms 107 ms 108 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

Nettest:
contacting nettest server..

Ping: 166.7 msec
Port: 80: 45 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 51 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 45 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 51 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 45 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 49 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 46 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 49 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 46 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 49 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 46 KB/sec 5 KB/sec 50 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 46 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 49 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 46 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 49 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 38 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 41 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 45 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 48 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 45 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 49 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 57 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 60 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 42 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 45 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec


To my untrained eye, these all look normal compared to my usual.

So far I've tried replacing my STOL.exe file and resetting my router/computer. All things that have solved this problem in the past, but I'm still unable to get in game this time around.
Any suggestions?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-11-2012, 06:59 AM
me to i have the same prob
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-11-2012, 08:02 AM
I've had the same problem since yesterday. Switching ISPs (using my neighbor's connection) didn't help. My traceroute to patchserver.crypticstudios.com looks clean (18 hops, 220ms average).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-11-2012, 10:47 AM
I was just doing tour the universe and about halfway through I started getting long map load times with server not responding, transwarped to ESD when I was done and had the same thing, had to alt f4. now stuck on retrieving character list.

This is the first time it has happened to me but its kind of frustrating when they spend like 4 days a week doing "maintenance" on everything and stupid problems like this still happen.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-11-2012, 06:27 PM
I've got the same issue.

Wish I didn't, wish a dev would post a fix, really wish I could play.

Manaxam
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-11-2012, 10:11 PM
I've got the same prob. This is the third time this has happened to me over the life of the game. The first two times all I had to do was re-download the client. It's not working this time though.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-12-2012, 01:07 AM
same problem here. Not a good way to treat the vets and start F2P.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-15-2012, 02:15 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by starbuck1771 View Post
same problem here. Not a good way to treat the vets and start F2P.
I agree100%. The only time I get to play these days is on the weekends, and because of this error I haven't been able to get on at all.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-27-2012, 04:04 AM
Is Australia a banned IP? because no one I know seems to be able to play, all are getting the same message.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10 Lame
02-03-2012, 04:31 PM
this is getting boring and stupid...there is no direct simple answer to this issue...bottom line is we cant play cant connect cant anything. waste of time and its making us hate your game.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 PM.