Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I am unable to have consistently good connections to the game. Sometimes the game will run fine, I am able to play and do quests and stuff. But most other times I am unable to even move in the game if it even lets me log in.

I have tried everything!

I tried:

1. Resetting my modem and router, it didn't work.
2. Removing one of my CPU quad-cores from the game client in task-manager, it didn't work.
3. Turning down the graphics, it didn't work.
4. Calling my ISP, it didn't work
5. Rebooting
6. Opening in Windowed-mode

You name it I've tried it except for uninstalling and reinstalling. I do not think the problem is on my end.

What do I have to do to get a good connection and play the game without connection hiccups?

Buy a new computer? pray for a miracle? or become a gold member? If gold members get premium connections to the game then I would subscribe to be a gold member.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-25-2012, 09:02 PM
I just started playing again and I'm having the same problems.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-25-2012, 10:39 PM
So did you try running the network connection test???

http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=225155

(Calling your ISP and telling them to fix something isn't going to work unless you have some information on what needs to be fixed...)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-26-2012, 06:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grouchy.Otaku
So did you try running the network connection test???

http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=225155

(Calling your ISP and telling them to fix something isn't going to work unless you have some information on what needs to be fixed...)
Yes I did the Tracert and NETTEST tests. What can I do with that information with my ISP?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-26-2012, 06:27 AM
You could sent to them or post here and see where people think the problem is.

I know i was having connection to server issues till I setup port forwarding in my fire wall for the ports STO uses.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-26-2012, 03:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by saber404
Yes I did the Tracert and NETTEST tests. What can I do with that information with my ISP?
Suggest to them that they reroute traffic around a certain spot if that spot is causing lag issues.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-26-2012, 04:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewsTelamon001
Suggest to them that they reroute traffic around a certain spot if that spot is causing lag issues.
Ok. I called my ISP, Comcast, and they said they don't do things like that. Is there some kind of special verbiage that I need to use?

Also I am going to try releasing my IP address and renewing it tomorrow as my last ditch effort to make the game work. As I said before, in the first few days of F2P the game ran fine but now I'm having issues. I REALLY don't think there is something wrong on my end but something wrong on STO's end.

BTW Here is the latest NetTest I have done:

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: It's a secret
Ping: 120.0 msec
Port: 80: 399 KB/sec 20 KB/sec 422 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 228 KB/sec 16 KB/sec 244 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 583 KB/sec 24 KB/sec 616 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 80 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 87 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 55 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 59 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 413 KB/sec 20 KB/sec 438 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 480 KB/sec 22 KB/sec 511 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 656 KB/sec 32 KB/sec 692 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 633 KB/sec 31 KB/sec 671 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 646 KB/sec 25 KB/sec 684 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 172 KB/sec 10 KB/sec 184 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 646 KB/sec 29 KB/sec 686 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 505 KB/sec 25 KB/sec 536 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit

And here is the TRACERT test:

C:\>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 47 ms 23 ms 28 ms c-76-105-72-1.hsd1.ga.comcast.net [76.105.72.1]

3 9 ms * 10 ms xe-11-0-0-0-sur01.d1stonemtn.ga.atlanta.comcast.
net [68.85.90.17]
4 9 ms 8 ms * xe-1-1-2-0-ar01.d1stonemtn.ga.atlanta.comcast.ne
t [68.85.108.133]
5 * 30 ms 29 ms pos-2-12-0-0-cr01.350ecermak.il.ibone.comcast.ne
t [68.86.92.237]
6 33 ms 30 ms 30 ms pos-1-3-0-0-pe01.350ecermak.il.ibone.comcast.net
[68.86.86.158]
7 30 ms 30 ms 30 ms te0-2-0-1.ccr22.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.11.253]
8 47 ms 33 ms 46 ms te0-2-0-1.ccr21.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.29.17]
9 57 ms 54 ms 55 ms te0-3-0-6.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.43.198]
10 * 53 ms 54 ms te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
130]
11 84 ms 53 ms 71 ms 38.111.40.114
12 62 ms * 52 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

BTW what do the Asterisk (*) mean in the test?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 PM.