Lt. Commander
This may be a stupid noob question, but I could not find the answer anywhere so here it goes:

I am new to the game and bought the TOS series pack. I got a TOS shuttle. I flew it once and it seems decently armed for a ship of this size and was kind of fun. I think it will be a hoot to play around with.

When I am in my main starship (TOS Constitution Class) there is an option to launch a shuttle. However, it says the shuttle is "unarmed" and disappears when battle starts. Obviously this is not the same shuttle I can pilot. So my question is...What is the purpose of launching a shuttle from your starship? It would not be any good in a battle. Is there something else it can do for me? Can it scan more stuff in the area when doing searches? Some other function?

What about the shuttle I CAN fly? Is there any real purpose for that in the game or is it just a fun toy?

Thanks in advance.
Lt. Commander
# 2
02-01-2012, 10:38 AM
The shuttle pet that you can launch is just that, a pet. It follows you around, looks pretty, and that's about it.

The shuttle you can pilot is for fun, but there is also one mission (The Vault) which requires you to use a shuttle for it. There are also plans for additional shuttle missions in the future.
Lt. Commander
# 3
02-01-2012, 11:17 AM
Oh! I did not know there were "pets" in the game.

Does that mean I can have a tribble follow me around too?

Thanks for the info!
Lt. Commander
# 4
02-01-2012, 12:34 PM
No tribbles aren't pets. Any pet you can have can be found in the c-store. Except the horta, which you can get from this mission Mine Enemy.
Lt. Commander
# 5
02-01-2012, 01:20 PM
There are a number of cosmetic pets for both ground and space, but Tribbles aren't currently one of them. I don't think Tribbles have been seen to move fast enough to be made pets in that fashion.
Lt. Commander
# 6
02-01-2012, 04:27 PM
Tribbles seem to move pretty fast when fired out of the Party Popper.
Lt. Commander
# 7
02-03-2012, 11:24 AM