Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Anyone use a wireless adapter?
04-15-2012, 08:41 AM
Are the wireless adapters Reliable for a gaming connection? I put my computer in another room and I didn't realize it didn't have a wireless adapter.

I also have an old linksys wireless router, if that can be used to catch my wireless network and deliver the signal through an Ethernet cable.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
04-15-2012, 08:49 AM
when my dlink repeater wants to work, its great.

but since it only works 1 day out of the year...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
04-15-2012, 08:53 AM
I opt for an Ethernet connection whenever possible, but wireless can get the job done well enough. Just expect to have some more lag spikes and/or disconnects than you may be used to.

Then again, my Cisco router is pretty horrid when it comes to this, and I need to reset the thing daily or more to keep my wireless devices working. You may have a better experience depending on the products you use.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
04-15-2012, 09:57 AM
I'd go with this one if I were you. New Egg reviews are probably more telling than Amazon for computer tech, and this thing reads very well. Plus it's cheap.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
04-15-2012, 10:12 AM
At home I use cabled Fiber connection... works great...

On my lappy @home or while visiting someone... WiFi... Works Great...

While on the move, 3G USB dongle... Works... WHen I have proper coverage...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
04-15-2012, 10:14 AM
I use a wireless connection on my PC, although I have to use a special high-gain antenna to get a decent enough signal to play.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
04-15-2012, 10:30 AM
centrino wireless-n 1030 + fritzbox.. works good ! but sometimes i switch to dLan.. works even better
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
04-15-2012, 12:25 PM
I use netgear router from bestbuy. Got it for 29.99 I think. Does what its supposed to
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
04-15-2012, 12:40 PM
I use a Linksys E3000. It has a max of 54Mbps. Since my internet caps out at 10Mbps, it is still overkill.

STO doesn't really require that much bandwidth. What gets you is ping speed.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
04-15-2012, 02:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by hort_wort View Post
I'd go with this one if I were you. New Egg reviews are probably more telling than Amazon for computer tech, and this thing reads very well. Plus it's cheap.
I ordered it! Thanks.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 PM.