Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I doubt this is possible, but there's no harm in asking, right?

In "Standoff", you run between consoles trying to solve a puzzle. As you uncover more clues, more branching options become available.

Is there some way to do that in the Foundry?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
06-05-2012, 08:31 PM
You can place popup dialog on your map and under the states keep it hidden until object complete. The object could be anything. You could also use marker reached. The popup on your map won't appear in the story line.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
06-05-2012, 08:59 PM
Yes, you can do that. It has to be a map dialogue though, or a default text on a contact. You can have more dialogue buttons appear based off of component complete state. Default text is probably the way to go, if possible, because you can interact with a contact multiple times vs just once for a dialogue (it will be minimized on the player's screen if you use the failed state, but that is a bit clunky).

It cannot be a dialogue that's part of the storyline or a talk to contact that is part of the storyline. However you can easily make a pseudo objective using those tools that is not actually part of the mission plot line.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
06-06-2012, 02:06 AM
Wow...this looks so much like my recent problem...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
06-06-2012, 03:17 AM
I implemented something similar in my mission, "Komahashi Maru", where the player has to complete several tasks before they are able to bring down a forcefield that was locking them in Cargo Bay 2. I used a single NPC, Commander Rem Brott, to help the player keep track of the tasks they still need to complete.

This was achieved by giving Rem Brott a default prompt. Each dialog branch is associated with a specific task. So if there are 6 tasks, there will be 6 dialog branches. As the task becomes active, the associated dialog branch becomes visible and when the player completes the task, that dialog branch becomes invisible. I thought it worked out quite well and is an intuitive way to help the player keep track of the tasks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
06-06-2012, 05:34 PM
Yeah, you can do this best with npc default dialogues hidden in objects. That way they can be talked to over and over again, and depending on what you do with triggers, they will say different things or give different options with dialog prompt triggers.

I do this with npcs in branching dialogue part 2. There are naughty tribbles.
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
# 7
12-08-2012, 07:37 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirkfat (Archived Post) View Post
Yeah, you can do this best with npc default dialogues hidden in objects. That way they can be talked to over and over again, and depending on what you do with triggers, they will say different things or give different options with dialog prompt triggers.

I do this with npcs in branching dialogue part 2. There are naughty tribbles.
I have a default dialogue with several buttons set to become hidden on This Component Complete. I only want that branch to be taken once. Its not working. Everytime I interact with the object all the butons are there. Any suggestions?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
06-06-2012, 05:38 PM
Thanks for the help! I will implement them immediately.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 PM.