Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,071
# 1 We Can't Test Our Missions.
12-30-2012, 10:51 PM
1. Testing a battle inside of the Foundry results in incredibly easy mobs that almost instantly die. This makes combat preview unreliable.
2. Our away teams now disappear almost instantly. If #1 wasn't a problem, this NEW problem would make combat preview impossible.
3. Because of the new rewards system, we cannot test our maps post-publish unless testing takes longer than 20 mins. Otherwise, simply testing post-publish (because it's now impossible to test pre-publish) condemns our maps to not qualify for rewards.


There are many other bugs. Basically, we can't test play our missions. The preview mode has become: "Is that object where you meant to put it?" It's not useful for anything else.

Please fix.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 514
# 2
12-31-2012, 09:44 AM
Um, can't you playtest your missions live by simply not finishing the message (add an impossible final objective, if necessary) and dropping it?

I'm pretty sure folks have said that dropped missions don't count toward runtime, and the length indicator of my first mission seems to support that (since I blitzed to the end several times and dropped it, and it's in the 30-60 min range)
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,071
# 3
12-31-2012, 12:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by zahinder View Post
Um, can't you playtest your missions live by simply not finishing the message (add an impossible final objective, if necessary) and dropping it?
Sure there are some lengthy and annoying workarounds where we do the majority of combat testing post-publish while being incredibly careful not to doom our own play-times. But my point is basically: this is supposed to be built into the Foundry. It isn't working as intended. When we click "Play," we are not really playing our missions at all. We're looking to see if we need to adjust a y value.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 846
# 4
01-01-2013, 10:59 PM
I have to agree, it's currently very bad. While there are ways to test, not being able to do a preliminary balance in preview is extremely frustrating.

Having to publish a test mission which goes straight to the fight part, switch characters, load the mission, test it, then switch characters, reload the test mission, make changes, publish, switch characters...etc.

Then finally it's right, and now I have to go back to the real mission and re-do the entire encounter, because I couldn't use the real mission or otherwise I'd have had to run through the whole damn mission every time. Then it's on to the next encounter, rinse and repeat.

Or I can think of a few other ways to attempt to test. But the fact is it's all really a hassle, for something that used to be quite easy.

Granted, I always would have to do a final (or usually several) real tests at the end, but they were just for fine tuning, not to see whether the fight balance is even close to being right.


Click here for my Foundry tutorial on Creating A Custom Interior Map.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,071
# 5
01-02-2013, 09:27 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagorak View Post

Granted, I always would have to do a final (or usually several) real tests at the end, but they were just for fine tuning, not to see whether the fight balance is even close to being right.
Nagorak, when did this become the case? My experience is kind of skewed because it was like a year after the foundry launched when I really started to make missions with combat. Even then, I don't remember mobs being so easy to kill in the foundry and being so different post-publish. Which update suddenly turned our testing mobs into unreliable test dummies?
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 887
# 6
01-02-2013, 10:44 AM
I haven't finished my first mission yet, but I have been wondering how you do go about play-testing them before you publish. I can see enemy spawns when I play-test it but my foundry character is a level 1 newbie and all the spawns are adjusted to her level.

Is it possible to change the level/rank of your foundry character? Lets say I want to play-test it at Commander rank, or Rear Admiral, or something like that?

Even then, I would want to change her ship and gear from the default Miranda class and standard issue stuff.

It might be easier if I could just import a copy of my main char from Holodeck. Is this possible?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 846
# 7
01-02-2013, 10:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirksplat View Post
Nagorak, when did this become the case? My experience is kind of skewed because it was like a year after the foundry launched when I really started to make missions with combat. Even then, I don't remember mobs being so easy to kill in the foundry and being so different post-publish. Which update suddenly turned our testing mobs into unreliable test dummies?
If you're talking about needing to test with a real character, it's basically always been that way. It's because your Foundry character is only level 10. Some enemies when scaled up to level 50 become extremely overpowered and just wipe the floor with you. The balance of low level enemies (Klingons, Gorn, etc) at high levels used to be very poor.

At some point, I think with the S6 patch or so, the balance of enemies appears to have improved. It's no longer so drastically out of line. It used to be that a commander 04 group just wiped the floor with you on Elite, and a captain mob was close to impossible without dying numerous times. When I tested most recently it seems to be better-- a challenge, but not a massacre.

All the same, you still should do a final test with a higher level character just to make sure the balance is good. If our Foundry characters were level 50 this would not be necessary. Unfortunately, mine is only about level 15, and newer Foundry authors can't even level their characters because they can't do the starting quest of the game.


Click here for my Foundry tutorial on Creating A Custom Interior Map.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 PM.