Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Two clients on the same pc?
01-11-2010, 06:54 PM
Hello,

Is it possible to have two clients installed on the same pc?
I have the CB ready to go OB, and am downloading the Steam client as we speak.

I do not want to delete the CB client before I'll know for sure what is the Steam download, but I'm afraid having two installations will somehow screw with the files/registry entries.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-11-2010, 06:55 PM
I think it might be possible, I don't see why not, the installer doesn't actually seem to do anything to the registry other than add shortcuts and where the application data goes.









...This forum requires that you wait 45 seconds between posts. Please try again in 13 seconds. Khaaaaan!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-11-2010, 07:19 PM
Any official reply?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-11-2010, 07:43 PM
Once the Steam install completes, it will overwrite the old reg entires. Nothing will break, but your old files will orphaned so make sure you clean them up yourself.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-11-2010, 07:54 PM
I just started the download so far that it gave me the key, stopped the load and registered the key, and bam. Closed beta client patched up is what I use.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-11-2010, 08:05 PM
If you had the CB client Cryptic said you can patch it up to the retail version, I'm not going to bother reloading the game from steam once i pay for the pre order. The only reason im going steam or Digital is to get the keys / activation. I did the same with the last two beta's I was in.. =)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 AM.