Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 nortons blocking
01-12-2010, 03:26 AM
i beleave my norton 10 is blocking my accses how do i get around this
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-12-2010, 03:28 AM
Blocking your access to what ?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-12-2010, 03:39 AM
Norton is a terrible program and should be removed and replaced with something else that will solve your problem and In most cases improve your systems performance as the resource hog is gone.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-12-2010, 04:01 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaWookie View Post
Blocking your access to what ?
it wont let sto accses my computer
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-12-2010, 04:07 AM
STO can be a few different things so I'll try to clarify.

Are you having problems trying to download the STO client off the internet?
Are you having problems trying to install the game from the files you downloaded?
Are you having problems starting the game launcher?

You should have had to do those 3 things in order ...I need to know at what point you are.

Just saying its not working doesnt help me
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-12-2010, 04:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by munchy8404 View Post
i beleave my norton 10 is blocking my accses how do i get around this
1. Disable norton
2. Uninstall norton
3. Throw norton out the window
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-12-2010, 05:17 AM
Munchy,

In Nortons go into the Settings and find the Program Controls options which will be located under different headings depending on your version of nortons (In Internet Security 2009 it is located under Internet Settings->Smart Firewall) and located Cryptic Game Launcher (Star Trek Online.exe) and set it to Allow or add it if it isn't there.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-12-2010, 05:35 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Zephyr
Munchy,

In Nortons go into the Settings and find the Program Controls options which will be located under different headings depending on your version of nortons (In Internet Security 2009 it is located under Internet Settings->Smart Firewall) and located Cryptic Game Launcher (Star Trek Online.exe) and set it to Allow or add it if it isn't there.
Norton will severely slow down your game... just letting you know.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-12-2010, 06:23 AM
SteppenRazor,

In my twelve years of using Nortons I have never seen a noticeable drop in performance in games or otherwise when tested against the same games on a fresh version of windows without Nortons. Well this is only my experience with the software, I am curious where you got you information because I've never heard of Nortons causing speed issues before.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-12-2010, 06:30 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Zephyr
SteppenRazor,

In my twelve years of using Nortons I have never seen a noticeable drop in performance in games or otherwise when tested against the same games on a fresh version of windows without Nortons. Well this is only my experience with the software, I am curious where you got you information because I've never heard of Nortons causing speed issues before.
Um... ok. YOu have been using Norton for 12 years and never noticed how much of a resource hog it is? Really? Wow. I have no argument. Cheers.

Please note my avatar... thank you, have a nice day.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 PM.