Lieutenant
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 97
I can stay logged into MMOGs like EQ II for days on end without ever being kicked if not in a gh/housing zone. In the past week of new play, I have been kicked at least 6 times.

The most recent server non-response caused the first Foundry mission I tried to bug out, having a door closed at the start (has to be a bug that a door is there closed when the door is open when you enter the first time) after restarting the mission twice.

I wasted 90 minutes on this mission that started at the beginning of the daily Foundry special. What a waste of time. I had to drop it.
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,263
# 2
02-23-2013, 01:09 PM
I agree with you, there's an inordinate amount of server disconnects and Server Not Responding messages, ever since S7. I just finished a PVP match, in that time I had the Server Not Responding come up at least a dozen times.

stardestroyer001, VA Explorers Fury | Retired STO Player
My Useful List of STO Forum Threads, Ship Builds & More! | My Forum Gripes
PvP: PvP Boot Camp, the best newbie oriented training initiative in STO!
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,614
# 3
02-23-2013, 07:55 PM
Yeah, I've been getting booted from the server quite a bit. I got booted around 9 times today, always after a 30-50 second server not responding message.

-Lantesh
Since Feb. 2009
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,098
# 4
02-23-2013, 09:52 PM
What region are you in and who is your ISP? Have you run a traceroute perchance?

I'm not having any issues currently, and haven't heard any buzz in chat about connection problems.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 97
# 5
02-24-2013, 02:50 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom61sto View Post
What region are you in and who is your ISP? Have you run a traceroute perchance?

I'm not having any issues currently, and haven't heard any buzz in chat about connection problems.
USA, Comast. As I said it never happens with any other MMOG I play. EQ II doesn't log you out like other games (this one puts you AFK so fast. You can't even poop without being put in AFK mode; at least you are not logged out in 30 min like another game).
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 515
# 6
02-24-2013, 03:30 AM
disconnects are quite rare for me. Even when I am on for a few hours, I never DC. I think DCs for me are about once a week.

If you are in the US, sometimes this site can help you figure out if there is a problem with your ISP or a connection line.

http://www.internetpulse.net/

It lists the companies that own data lines and from time to time, you can see that there is an issue beyond what Cryptic can control. It could also be the path your connection takes to get to the STO servers. You can also do a tracert here:

http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/visual-tracert/

It tells you how many hops it takes to get from your location to another. The lower the hops, the better. If you have a lot of hops, that can cause problems with your connectivity. Also keep in mind that if you use a wireless connection at home that in itself is a hop. If possible, directly connect to your router.

Since we are on the topic, in case you are dealing with lag issues, you can check your internet speed and ping here:

http://speedtest.net/

While a faster download speed is good, what you are looking for when online gaming is a low ping. My ping averages about 105 which is pretty good. I have seen people with a ping as low as 8, but that's on a super fast connection.

I hope some of this helps you understand a little more. If not, well...

never gonna give you up! never gonna let you down! never gonna turn around...and hurt you! never gonna make you cry, never gonna say goodbye. never gonna tell around and desert you!

I've had that song in my head for 3 days. Now you deal with it.
_______________________________
To answer your question, yes. - @Executive_Emily - I have a Website? Oh, yeah! I do.
Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 20
# 7
03-03-2013, 01:33 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by stardestroyer001 View Post
I agree with you, there's an inordinate amount of server disconnects and Server Not Responding messages, ever since S7. I just finished a PVP match, in that time I had the Server Not Responding come up at least a dozen times.
Totally agree here.
Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 254
# 8
03-03-2013, 01:34 AM
Grrr, Cryptic, what have you done to the servers now? They were working fine last time I checked, WTF?!?
Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 11
# 9
03-03-2013, 01:41 AM
Registering an incresed amount of disconnections from server. Everytime I trace the packets during disconnect, they are getting lost on atlas.cogentco.com servers/routers.

I doubt Cryptic has anything to do with them. They are servers in the middle of the way from my PC to STO server, so the data not even get close enough to Cryptic network. It's fault of the providers. Don't blame Cryptic for it. They are helpless about it as we are.


TRACE #1:

1 < 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 10.0.0.138
2 40 ms 40 ms 42 ms 88.103.200.45
3 45 ms 42 ms 42 ms 65.196.broadband14.iol.cz [90.181.196.65]
4 44 ms 41 ms 43 ms 194.228.190.177
5 44 ms 40 ms 45 ms 194.228.190.193
6 44 ms 41 ms 41 ms 5.53.0.89
7 102 ms 103 ms 61 ms Xe3-3-0-0-grtpartv1.red.telefonica-wholesale.net [94.142.121.30]
8 65 ms 63 ms 63 ms Xe0-1-3-0-grtparix1.red.telefonica-wholesale.net [213.140.36.157]
9 103 ms 64 ms 62 ms 213.140.52.134
10 66 ms 64 ms 65 ms te0-7-0-8.mpd21.par01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.1.69]
11 64 ms 66 ms 67 ms te0-0-0-1.mpd21.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.2.6]
12 * * 69 ms te0-3-0-1.mpd21.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.0.181]
13 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
14 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
15 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
16 * * 154 ms 208.95.185.41


TRACE #2:

1 < 1 ms < 1 ms 1 ms 10.0.0.138
2 40 ms 41 ms 41 ms 88.103.200.45
3 44 ms 42 ms 42 ms 65.196.broadband14.iol.cz [90.181.196.65]
4 46 ms 45 ms 41 ms 194.228.190.177
5 44 ms 46 ms 42 ms 194.228.190.193
6 41 ms 41 ms 41 ms 5.53.0.89
7 42 ms 63 ms 103 ms Xe7-0-2-0-grtparix3.red.telefonica-wholesale.net [84.16.12.174]
8 100 ms 62 ms 131 ms Xe0-1-2-0-grtpareq1.red.telefonica-wholesale.net [213.140.37.101]
9 61 ms 63 ms 63 ms Xe2-0-4-0-grtparix1.red.telefonica-wholesale.net [94.142.117.102]
10 64 ms 62 ms 63 ms te0-7-0-8.mpd21.par01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.1.69]
11 65 ms 67 ms 69 ms te0-4-0-6.mpd21.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.37.157]
12 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
13 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
14 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
15 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
16 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
17 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
18 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
19 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
20 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
21 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
22 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
23 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
24 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
25 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
26 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
27 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
28 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
29 * * * Vypr?el časov? limit ??dosti.
30 * * 152 ms 208.95.185.41
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 197
# 10
03-03-2013, 06:04 AM
same has been happening to me...

i can log on to the servers ok initially, but then it just drops me at "Retrieving list of maps"
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 PM.