Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Dual Monitors
01-12-2010, 08:35 AM
Ok, I just got myself a brand new computer and I have a dual monitor setup with the ATI HD5850 card all set up. I donwloaded and installed STO. Now my question is...

Should I play the game with the Full screen setting OR set it up in windowed full screen so I can still have access to the second monitor? Being that I have a great vid card I think I can run it windowed and still keep access to that second monitor...however, if the graphics will be affected greatly by having access to the second monitor then i will run it full screen. My primary monitor is a 24" 1920 x 1080 monitor and my secondary is a 22" monitor.

Does anyone else plan on running dual screen? I like dual screens because i can quickly look stuff up online about STO if I need to while i am still in the game...I used to run that same setup with WoW. Does anyone know the viablity of dual screens in the closed beta?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-12-2010, 08:39 AM
Like Champions Online you may find yourself unable to play STO in windowed mode. Think that you can only play STO in full screen mode.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-12-2010, 09:35 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by acornia View Post
Like Champions Online you may find yourself unable to play STO in windowed mode. Think that you can only play STO in full screen mode.
No, STO works fine in window mode and Dual Screen.

I played the whole beta in window mode on 2x Samsung 24" Screens
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-12-2010, 09:57 AM
I can also confirm that STO runs great in a window - has allowed me to play the game and keep my IMs etc open on the 2nd screen all throughout CBT
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-12-2010, 08:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabronius View Post
Ok, I just got myself a brand new computer and I have a dual monitor setup with the ATI HD5850 card all set up. I donwloaded and installed STO. Now my question is...

Should I play the game with the Full screen setting OR set it up in windowed full screen so I can still have access to the second monitor? Being that I have a great vid card I think I can run it windowed and still keep access to that second monitor...however, if the graphics will be affected greatly by having access to the second monitor then i will run it full screen. My primary monitor is a 24" 1920 x 1080 monitor and my secondary is a 22" monitor.

Does anyone else plan on running dual screen? I like dual screens because i can quickly look stuff up online about STO if I need to while i am still in the game...I used to run that same setup with WoW. Does anyone know the viablity of dual screens in the closed beta?

That was my plan as well. Going to 'try' and set that up this afternoon after work
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-12-2010, 08:43 AM
I considered triple-screen but my old Parhelia is just not up to todays challenge. And I can't afford a triplehead2go right now..

If there is a windowed fullscreen mode then I think dual screen would work better, otherwise it'd just minimize the window whenever you click outside.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-12-2010, 08:51 AM
Im glad to report that STO supports triple monitor resolutions through eyefinity. I was able to select 5080x1050 right off the bat from the options without any hassle. Havent tried it in game yet, but the title screen is pretty in triple monitor!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8 Full Screen Windowed Mode
01-12-2010, 08:54 AM
I can confirm that there is an option to run in single full screen windowed mode and still have fluid access to the second monitor. That being said I have only been able to test this on the title screen as I am not able to log into the game currently. I will update post once I know more.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-12-2010, 09:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enuo View Post
Im glad to report that STO supports triple monitor resolutions through eyefinity. I was able to select 5080x1050 right off the bat from the options without any hassle. Havent tried it in game yet, but the title screen is pretty in triple monitor!
So. Jealous.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10 Dual screen
01-12-2010, 09:03 PM
It worked. I had some jagged graphics but i see that its because AA is not enable for ATI cards. I have a 5850 card and i should have everything at high settings. For now, i will continue to play with different settings...man, i can't wait till the server comes back...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:27 PM.