Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Any more DL advice??
01-12-2010, 06:45 PM
I've been trying to DL the client all day (as many of us have) and can't seem to get any higher speeds than 5-50 kbps.....even though It's a DSL connection, with speakeasy speed test showing a DL rate of 500 kbps.

Fileplanet is a no go, averaging 35 kbps, and often dropping to 0 too many times.

The official download is a no go for me too, usually not jumping over 10 kbps.

Currently trying the torrent, and it started out at 25 kbps, since dropping to .5 kbps, which is sad since the upload rate has been steady at about 25 kbps.

If anyone has any ideas/suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it.

FYI, I live in rural S Texas, in case that makes a diff.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2 help
01-12-2010, 07:10 PM
read this thread, hopefully it will help you configure your bit torrent for higher download rates

http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...61#post1390561
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-12-2010, 07:19 PM
what i did was download the setup.exe from the .torrent and install it that way, now im getting 575 to 600kbps from cryptic's servers through the patcher
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-12-2010, 08:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by NTree45 View Post
what i did was download the setup.exe from the .torrent and install it that way, now im getting 575 to 600kbps from cryptic's servers through the patcher
Ok, but if all you DL'd was the "setup.exe" file, how did you get it to install to get it patched without the other files, mine got DL'd first, and when i ran it, it started to install, then hung up at the file bin2.hogg

just wonderin
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-12-2010, 08:09 PM
not shure, is bin2.hogg partially downloaded?
all i know is what worked, trying to get it downloaded for a friend on his comp, will let you know what happens for him
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-12-2010, 08:17 PM
yeah, left it alone for a while, and I guess it just decided to skip what wasnt fully DL'd, got it installed, and am now letting it patch, we'll see how it goes, thx for the tip, btw!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-12-2010, 08:20 PM
After a 23 hour download I got the 10GB patch bug... I've been trying to re-download the client all DAY...

Bad form Cryptic... terrible downloaders. I've gamed for almost 10 yrs, downloaded most of my mmo's... never had I had a worse experience with downloaders. I feel sorry for your employees.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 AM.