Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 sto blew up my computers
01-13-2010, 09:13 AM
Now i am forced to write this from my 5 year old laptop....

so i was all happy to wait for the beta servers to open at 1pm EST, i logged in and started creating my character....bright green flash of light and my power supply blew... No big deal im thinking, prolly just some dust short circuited it or something... So i go to work, and then come home and go to bed, thinking ill just play on my g/f's computer on my day off... So it is now my day off, started up the client, patched, then went into character creation.... SAME SECTION during changing my body proportions, POP her power supply blows...
Now i'm ****ed, so i take out her power supply to look at it and it's perfectly clean and pretty new... It seems like something is overloading the voltage on BOTH computers during character creation and causing the power supplies to blow up... I have ordered 2 new power supplies and and waiting for them to come in the mail, but i am now afraid to play this game.

both computers are on different outlets
one has windows 7, the other windows XP
one has a dual core, the other a quad core
one has a 8800GTX, the other 9600GTX
two different power supplies
two different motherboards
one has 4gb of ram, the other has 3gb
i checked both cases, and there is no dust in either of them because i take really good care of them
wtf?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-13-2010, 09:17 AM
what wattage were the two power supplies?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-13-2010, 09:19 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemming64 View Post
what wattage were the two power supplies?

one was a 500 watt, the other a 600 watt...they play other games like **** fine on max settings...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-13-2010, 09:25 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by oicurdum View Post
one was a 500 watt, the other a 600 watt...they play other games like **** fine on max settings...
yes but just because they play other older games fine doesn't mean it is sufficient wattage, the older games will not fully utilise GPU and CPU power as much as a brand new game will. Half Life 2 is nearly 5 years old!

I am not certain if those are enough wattage with the setup you have, but to be on the safe side you will probably want to get higher ones to replace. Also buy a surge protector in case you have an electrical problem at home in general.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-13-2010, 09:25 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemming64 View Post
yes but just because they play other older games fine doesn't mean it is sufficient wattage, the older games will not fully utilise GPU and CPU power as much as a brand new game will. I am not certain if those are enough wattage with the setup you have, but to be on the safe side you will probably want to get higher ones to replace. Also buy a surge protector in case you have an electrical problem at home in general.
they are both on surge protecters... BTW **** is not an older game lol
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-13-2010, 09:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by oicurdum View Post
they are both on surge protecters... BTW **** is not an older game lol
well ... the US version anyway <evil grin> but seriously its one of the weirdest facts people spend hundreds on graphic cards, mother boards etc and yet often go for the cheapest option when it comes to psu. yet a bad psu failure can break everything else in the case ....


Gadareth
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-13-2010, 09:17 AM
hehe


this game has the power to blow a power supply?


that is freaking AWESOME !!!!!!


I'm gonna install it on my ex-wifes computer.



.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-13-2010, 09:19 AM
How do u know its ur power supply, do the comp just not boot up at all (as in no light or fans coming on) it could be ur mobo if u still receive power
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-13-2010, 09:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziggydoc View Post
How do u know its ur power supply, do the comp just not boot up at all (as in no light or fans coming on) it could be ur mobo if u still receive power
the loud POP! coming from my power supplies gave it away. I also took out the power supplies and examined them both after they blew.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-13-2010, 10:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by oicurdum View Post
the loud POP! coming from my power supplies gave it away. I also took out the power supplies and examined them both after they blew.
While the loud pop might be an indicator, taking out your power supply and staring at it won't tell you much unless it was on fire or you took a DMM and tested the components.

I would worry about the circuit your PC was on. Did it share a power strip with the other computer? Do you have stormy weather right now?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 PM.