Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 15
I think it would be a great idea (and streamline gameplay) to allow players to actuvate multiple abilities with one key press.

For instance, I use Emergency Power to Weapons, Cannon Rapid Fire II, and Torpedo High Yield, and Wing Cannon Overload one i've melted my target's shields. Often it takes several seconds to activate those abilities, but if I could string them all together and bind it to say, "control+4" I could activate all those abilities as y personal attack pattern

Saving time means more blowing stuff up and that makes me happy
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5,498
# 2
04-03-2013, 08:46 PM
+1 to this.

Something like:
Giving it our own name, like say Alpha Strike (I'll use my own for an example).
Choosing which powers activate with it, say, APA, APB, CRF, GDF, TF, TT, FOMM, and subspace jump.
A special section is created under options>keybinds for custom keybinds.
Maybe a little symbol customization for recognizable symbols on the tray.
It gets put in the drag to tray powers window.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 240
# 3
04-03-2013, 08:50 PM
I don't use them, so I could be wrong, but can't you already do something very similar with keybinds?
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,145
# 4
04-03-2013, 09:09 PM
Keybinds do not allow you to create a string of commands and have it execute with a single keypress, this was deliberately implemented to prevent players from creating a push one button to win command. You can bind multiple commands to one key but you are required to push that key repeatedly to step through each command in the string.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,926
# 5
04-03-2013, 11:42 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxvitor View Post
Keybinds do not allow you to create a string of commands and have it execute with a single keypress, this was deliberately implemented to prevent players from creating a push one button to win command. You can bind multiple commands to one key but you are required to push that key repeatedly to step through each command in the string.
How can you do that? Still sounds useful.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,145
# 6
04-03-2013, 11:52 PM
The tutorial thread here is called Keybinds For Dummies. There are also a number of websites that detail how to do it.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,137
# 7
04-04-2013, 05:26 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxvitor View Post
Keybinds do not allow you to create a string of commands and have it execute with a single keypress, this was deliberately implemented to prevent players from creating a push one button to win command. You can bind multiple commands to one key but you are required to push that key repeatedly to step through each command in the string.
keypad and gamepad macros do that tho. So it's all in your gear.

I personally say no to this because we already have too much on the attack patterns as it is having too much power in one place. Before they can do something like this thiey'd have to separate the attack patterns and evasive patterns into separate skills (like they should be) so that people can't make a secondary Iwin button that uses the Iwin buton that's already there.

Then maybe.
MMO's of 2014 where normal gameplay is considered an exploit and the eastern billing model is celebrated by apologists. smh
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,145
# 8
04-04-2013, 08:20 AM
The big thing that people should remember is, putting too many things in a one keystroke automated macro means you wait, big time for the sequence to complete, every function has a cooldown and some actually share cooldowns, the game doesn't queue keystrokes, it ignores keypresses for functions in cooldown. There will come times when you want to execute a function out of sequence from your scripted macro but thanks to the macro, the function you may desperately need is stuck in a shared cooldown caused by one of the functions activated in your macro. Then the magic I win button becomes the suicide button instead. This is the major pitfall of using game gear automated macros.

The keybind system in game requiring you to press the key for each step allows you to stop at any point should you choose to execute a function directly out of the order defined in your keybind sequence, you are not locked into a sequence that could get you killed when the situational requirements vary rapidly.

Last edited by maxvitor; 04-04-2013 at 10:04 AM.
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
# 9
04-11-2013, 09:30 AM
Part of any game is skill. If all you need to do is press one button to do 4 things, it's not exactly a skillful act. The reward for accomplishing the act you're attempting is negated if all you have to do is press one button. Even if you always win, does it really matter? If they implemented a Win Button, would you really want to use it? At what point is it OK to say "*Screw the skill required. I want this to be easy." I say keep it how it is, learn your keystrokes, and execute them masterfully. If you can do that and still win, then you *deserve* to win and it will feel that much better because you *used your skills* to accomplish that crazy train of abilities you had to execute.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02 PM.