Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 16
# 1 Terrible Graphics Performance
04-26-2013, 08:07 PM
I have a high end machine, but I've been getting terrible looking graphics. Note that the frame rates are pretty much fine. When I launch the game, everything looks great at max graphics, but very quickly, the game will get very blurry, not very detailed, look like a game from 10 years ago. I am not at half resolution. Lowering the anti-aliasing fixes it temporarily, but soon enough the issue occurs again. Temperatures of my GPUs and CPU are fine. I've always suspected that STO had really bad GPU usage, but Crysis 2 at max graphics is outperforming STO. Are there any known issues with STO on high end systems like this?

Also, possibly related, occasionally if I alt-tab out of the game and then back in, the game crashes with an out of video RAM error (which is impressive if STO has such a bad leak that it uses up 6GB of video RAM).

Specs:
Intel i7-3930k (3.2GHz hexcore)
2 AMD 7970s with 3GB of video RAM each running in crossfire.
32 GB of DDR3 1866 RAM.

Last edited by turakkatase; 04-26-2013 at 08:25 PM.
Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 276
# 2
04-26-2013, 08:28 PM
Bloom effects mabey?
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,953
# 3
04-26-2013, 09:54 PM
It's probably a setting in your video drivers, check your system anti-aliasing settings.
"Tent" Filters and Morphological filtering produces image softening, too much of which leaves you with a blurry image. You could also try running the game in Windowed Maximized mode instead of Full screen.
If something is not broken, don't fix it, if it is broken, don't leave it broken.
Oh Hell NO to ARC........One Ring to Rule Them all........

Last edited by maxvitor; 04-26-2013 at 09:57 PM.
Commander
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 447
# 4
04-26-2013, 10:42 PM
I was having the same problem, I had it chalked up to running out of video RAM, but if you are getting it on 3gb cards, I doubt thats it, unless as you say it has an incredible memory leak.

I fixed it by unchecking the advanced settings check box in STOs graphic settings and the moving the quality slider all the way down, then all the way back up again.

The problem comes back any time I mess with view distance settings, hence why I assumed it was running out of VRAM loading all the distant detail textures, but I only have a 512mb card.

Hope that works for you!

Last edited by jornado; 04-26-2013 at 10:44 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 16
# 5
04-27-2013, 06:08 AM
It seems to be memory. I pulled up GPU-Z and looked at my graphics card's memory utilization, and it was very high (around 2.7GB out of the card's 3GB). Lowering the view distance helped me maintain the quality longer, but it still dropped fairly quickly. I am trying to run this on three monitors, so the resolution is much higher then normal. I can run several other games at the same resolution and have no issues, so I think the issue is with STO's coding. I guess I'll drop down to one monitor and see if my memory utilization falls to a more reasonable level.
Commander
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 447
# 6
04-27-2013, 12:08 PM
From another thread it looks link new Romulus is an especially leaky zone, have you noticed any other places its particularly bad or is it just as bad everywhere?

Note, it may be STO just doesn't know how to control its memory usage on larger cards; after reducing my view distance I have no loss of quality on a 512mb card, and I read approximately 70mb free as a minimum at all times.

edit: that's with all view distances at a minimum of 150%.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 AM.