Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 697
When I load the game I get a message at the bottom of the screen that says:

Pixel Shader Compilation WARNING followed by a bunch code text.

I am fairly sure this is related to DX11.

Should I be concerned. Should I change some settings?

I am just baffled by this game now. I got a new card last year to play the new crop of games like Skyrim etc. I saw an ENORMOUS improvement in SWTOR. I dont know why in STO I seem to be taking a performance hit when every other game runs better and smoother and on higher settings. Missions I used to run a few times a day with no issues are now laggy messes. Ive started getting headaches if I play too long. Guess Im getting motion sickness.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 105
# 2
05-30-2013, 10:40 AM
I get this message as well when Dx11 (beta) is switched on. The game plays fine, but I don't know if it's Dx11 or not because of the error message.

As I mentioned in another thread, I'm also getting the graphics card is not recognised before client login. Pretty sure this is LoR related.
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 697
# 3
05-30-2013, 12:21 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by genemorph View Post
I get this message as well when Dx11 (beta) is switched on. The game plays fine, but I don't know if it's Dx11 or not because of the error message.

As I mentioned in another thread, I'm also getting the graphics card is not recognised before client login. Pretty sure this is LoR related.
I have had to reduce many settings just to be able to play. I find it VERY WEIRD that I could use the exact same settings on two different lesser cards and play without issue. I have always been one of those people saying "what lag?"

Before LoR, I used the exact same settings I had been using for years and had no issues.

Since LoR those settings now seem to be too intensive.

Wondering if this is all related to them "updating all textures" and messing up viewing distances and what not.

I have always praised this game for looking beatiful and playing very smooth. Right now I feel like I am playing with vid card from the last decade instead of one rated for more intense games like Arkham City.
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 799
# 4
05-30-2013, 12:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by colonelchenchuan View Post
Should I be concerned. Should I change some settings?
I haven't been able to tell if it actually has any relevance on the game. It's been an long standing issue however. I get it too.

Quote:
// Defines: SSAO SSAO_PREPASS SM30 VFETCH DEPTH_TEXTURE D3D11 USE_OLD_REFLECTION NO_AMBIENT_FALLOFF NVIDIA NOGRAD SSAO_PREPASS_ENABLED
//#define DEFERRED_SHADOW
// Force SM2.0 flag. This allows GraphicsLib to override the shader
// model actually being compiled for, for measuring lower end shaders.
//fdef FORCE_SM20
//ndef SM2B
//ndef SM30
//ndef D3D11
//efine SM20
//ndif
//fdef SM20
//fdef SM2B
//ror in defines, can't be SM2B and SM20'
//lifdef SM30
//ror in defines, can't be SM30 and SM20'
//ndif
There's a file in Star Trek Online\Star Trek Online\Live\localdata called failed_shader_0.txt
Commander
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 418
# 5
05-31-2013, 09:04 AM
Play in DX9 mode as 11 is only beta and has always showed error messages for me. I've not noticed any difference between the 2 graphically.
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 697
# 6
05-31-2013, 10:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonsbite View Post
Play in DX9 mode as 11 is only beta and has always showed error messages for me. I've not noticed any difference between the 2 graphically.
It gets very confusing. Other people and website postings all say that the DX11 IMPROVES your performance.

Since it requires a restart its hard to really compare the performance of the 2.

Im just tired of messing with settings I havent had to change in 3 years
Commander
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 418
# 7
05-31-2013, 09:08 PM
I find STO to be quite a bit more graphic card intensive then cpu. And even more so since LOR. Currently i'm using 2 vid cards running at 58% each. That would be 116% of 1 vid card. On Tribble I had to find a way to get SLI to work (which I did btw) as 1 vid card just wasn't up to the task. So with LOR and only 1 vid card people are noticing a degradation in performance.

Whatever change they made, be it textures or whatever needs to be optimized a bit more for single vid card users. This reminds me of WoW. I started that game with an AGP vid card system and I swear I bought a new computer every 1-2 years because their updates made the game completely unplayable. You mentioned swtor so i'll mention that game as well. It's a DX9 only game. Using SLI you get zero improvement in frame rate. STO has better frame rate, less stuttering and you get a performance gain when using SLI. So coding wise STO is a clear winner. That doesn't mean that you can't optimize it a bit more. Most especially menus, as opening a menu drops your fps significantly on ground maps. The stuttering or loading of textures that was introduced with LOR needs to be addressed as well. Mostly noticeable on ground maps as well.

Last edited by dragonsbite; 05-31-2013 at 09:12 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 519
# 8
05-31-2013, 09:30 PM
What graphics card are you running? Does it support DX11? Each DX11 version requires that the hardware is able to support it in order for it to work right.

Remember almost all games which are designed to take advantage of the latest version of DirectX automatically fall back to a safe version that is likely to be supported by *everyone*. In this case that is DirectX9 and any GPU made in the last 8 years can run DX9.

When you select DX11 in the advanced options, you are *instructing* the game to run in DX11 mode and there is nothing automatic about it, the game doesn't try DX11 and then say "this is not, right lets fall back to DX9" like other games do. Most games do not give you this ability to make this choice.

I suggest making double sure that your card supports DX11.
1hr of work @NYS Min Wage 7.25 = 725 Zen
725 x 102 (or current exchange rate) DL = 73950 DL <- can you earn that per hour in game?

Join Date: Sep 2009 - I want my changeling lava lamp!

Last edited by phantomeight; 05-31-2013 at 09:56 PM.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 677
# 9
05-31-2013, 09:47 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by colonelchenchuan View Post
It gets very confusing. Other people and website postings all say that the DX11 IMPROVES your performance.

Since it requires a restart its hard to really compare the performance of the 2.

Im just tired of messing with settings I havent had to change in 3 years
Since LOR, directx11 in fact reduces performance and significantly increases CPU usage in alot of places.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
# 10
06-02-2013, 03:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkfader1988 View Post
Since LOR, directx11 in fact reduces performance and significantly increases CPU usage in alot of places.
I tested this out on my end. Login screen on DX11 (which, I assume, falls back to DX10.1 on my card) I got 42fps, New Romulus staging area I got 13, with SSAO turned off as well as on. DX9 I got 32fps, New Romulus staging area I got 24 with SSAO turned off, and 12 with SSAO turned on.

I'm using an ATI 4890 1GB if you're curious.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 PM.