Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 fatal errors crashes
01-20-2010, 09:43 AM
Im gettng all sorts of fatal errors.

got 1 half way through char creation,

so i tried again and made it into the game, and got another fatal error 3 seconds after the game loaded


now as soon as i select char and press play i get 1
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-20-2010, 09:49 AM
And... what other text displayed along with the error? And... does it crash your client or your PC?

If you're getting odd fatal errors in STO and it crashes the client, you most likely have corrupted client files. I'd do a wiped and install of STO or just delete your hogg data files in the STO install folder (Live/piggs) and let the launcher download (patch) them again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-20-2010, 09:52 AM
Decompressing data

crashed client


ill try reinstall
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-20-2010, 09:59 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Untouchable View Post
Decompressing data

crashed client


ill try reinstall
If it's decompressing data errors, yup, you have a corrupted install.

Did you by chance download the client in a compressed zip file and then extract it with Window's built-in extraction/compression tool? If so, use something like 7Zip instead. It is a known problem that client files compressed by placed like File Planet and others have packages that are incompatible with the built-in Windows extraction tool.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-20-2010, 10:11 AM
not in a zip, it was the official torrent

after reinstall it has a data read error as the character is loading into the game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-20-2010, 10:15 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Untouchable View Post
not in a zip, it was the official torrent

after reinstall it has a data read error as the character is loading into the game.
Ah, so then you won't have to worry about the zip problem then.

You just mentioned you did a reinstall? But you didn't download the files again, did you? It obviously will take hours and hours to do this. If you have corrupted files, a reinstall isn't going to help. You need to get clean files from Cryptic again. Your installer/client files are corrupted.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:07 AM.