Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Steam download - 10 GB
01-29-2010, 01:47 PM
Hy,

Steam is downloading 10 GB "update" after i was already playing. Could you tell me why?

Second Question:
How could i prefend Steam doing that again?

Imbuse
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-29-2010, 01:48 PM
I'd appreciate knowing why it's doing this as well. :p
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-29-2010, 01:49 PM
AFAIK steam is having to re-install the whole game again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-29-2010, 01:51 PM
Ouch...I got rid of my QoS on my router to speed it up, but Steam caps me at 1.3 MBps this sucks! Considering I was already playing
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-29-2010, 01:52 PM
same here, steam froze, I restarted and now I have to re-download the whole game again, thanks.... hell of a head start....
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-29-2010, 01:51 PM
yep ... i have same ... so I can play in about 3 hour i think .... if the server is online again *haha*

and then i want my borg and my trill ... *grml*
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-29-2010, 01:53 PM
this ****es me off,
1# I have a limited bandwidth, I had to increase the download rate i.e. pay more to my ISP today to get it down...
2# I thought I would be able to log in today. since I made sure to log in yesterday and have the game up to date, I would have accepted a patch update.
BUT NOT THE WHOLE FREACKING GAME!!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-29-2010, 01:54 PM
It's a problem with steam, there is a big thread about it on the steam forum. Basically, if you have the client through steam, launch the exe directly, do not launch it through steam.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-29-2010, 01:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rabbit
It's a problem with steam, there is a big thread about it on the steam forum. Basically, if you have the client through steam, launch the exe directly, do not launch it through steam.
I would if I could find the damn thing!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-29-2010, 01:57 PM
Definitely going to download the external client later (i'm about 40 percent in my steam 'update'). Annoying that it decided that it needs to download the whole damn thing again. Guess it didn't remember I already did that when I used steam-stobeta for all those weeks.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 AM.