Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Exchange - Clogging
01-30-2010, 11:09 PM
The Exchange has a bunch of 1000 priced items that are only worth 20 or so. These overpriced items are 'clogging' my screen when I'm searching for a bargia.

(And a "bargain" is defined as something that a player could buy from a vendor for X, or sell to a vendor for Y, but is priced between X and Y. I.e. A 541 item tha would be sold to a vendor for 220 is being offered for 320.)

I think the Exchange concept hasn't been thought through.

And for the "Vendors" are all Starfleet personell supposed to be psychic? How about a label of what they sell or a simple mouseover. But to have to click on them and do a dialogue screen? Am I wrong in saying that we should know at a glance what they are selling by giving them a shop name instead of having to do lots of clicks to get there?

Spending all your time as a newbie trying to find who sells what is disruptive to gameplay.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-31-2010, 07:30 AM
i've been comaplaing about the Price gouging in the Exchange for weeks, its retarded, they take a 1,000 to 3,000 item and try to get 50k or more out of it, thats mean as it is illegal in reality XD

but anyways my main problem is when i try and search for items in any section but Weapons, personal weapons, the junk stuff like data, bridge officers, and devices// everything else comes back with no results.. like there isent anything there when i lnow there should be cause a friend told me he has a eng console up for sale, but when i do a simple search for Any of Any rank... Nothing shows up
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-31-2010, 07:52 AM
Needs a filter so you can set a max price to look for.

Thing is you can only post 20 items and someone asking far too much isnt going to get anything for it. During beta I was asking for 75% of the value of any item ie its value being 1000 Id ask for 750cr. So far Ive been selling at full cost.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-31-2010, 09:07 AM
Theres also a ton of starter ship parts on the exchange. I think they should make it so that we can only sell the starter ship parts to npcs. Theres absolutely no reason why I would need to buy a part for 5000 credits when I get it for free...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-31-2010, 09:16 AM
Maybe limit it to Mk III or higher items as well. I have to admit though it's funny to see a Mk II item for 10k, or a bridge officer for that much. I'd also like them to fix the Console sorting. It's a bit annoying to have to pull it up under commodities with everything else.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-31-2010, 09:20 AM
personally i think they need to put a limit on max price... supposed to be over greed in the 24th centry right... i think the most you should be able to see an item for is max cost that way your still making a profit but not gouging..

either that or put a limit on number if items or ammount of $$ like you can only sell so much / rank or so many items per rank items per rank would work better give one more tool to use against the spammers..
( and yes i'd limit it to one item at lt. and prolly jump it at lt com to 5 or so )

would love to see the exchange be across factions.... not sure if they've added an exchange to klingons yet but it would be nice to have the option
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-31-2010, 09:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenchi2k View Post
the junk stuff like data, bridge officers, and devices// everything else comes back with no results.. like there isent anything there when i lnow there should be cause a friend told me he has a eng console up for sale, but when i do a simple search for Any of Any rank... Nothing shows up
search under All or Commodities. Items showing up under Commodities and having nothing to do with that heading was a bug in beta that apparently isn't fixed.

Until there is a way to sort by price, the Exchange is going to be clunky (because you have to keep scrolling through screens you don't need and/or refining your searches [from Engine to Combat Engine to Combat Engine mk ii...]) and the prices are going to be completely ridiculous because sellers know some buyers are too lazy to go through the arduous task of scanning for the best price.

Also, maybe there needs to be an Exchange Fee - 5% of your listing price perhaps? That might get rid of the outrageously overpriced crap.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Exchange needs to sort all searches by Lowest price first then Name automatically. That would keep those high priced items from being seen. THen those gougers might get the hint to reduce their prices.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-31-2010, 09:37 AM
Yeah I just posted a bunch of Rare items Consoles Engineering Science and a rare Mine weapon. The mine weapon shows up under the weapons when I search, but none of the consoles show up.

When I run a search for engineering consoles NOTHING shows up.

My stuff is in there I know because it says it is, but no one will be able to buy if they can't see it.

Fix the Exchange please.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10 Thanks
01-31-2010, 10:38 AM
Thanks for adding your comments to my post.

It is a lot better than the 'one liners' I see on other posts.

We've determiend that some things like consoles show up.

I''ve started a post with my specific recommendations http://forums.startrekonline.com/showthread.php?t=92833
...although one poster indicateed that klingons don't have an exchange.

I will have to admit, having an exchange does throw off balance a bit, as well as player progression, of course having a fleet bank does the same......
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 PM.