Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 What's my weak link?
01-31-2010, 02:29 PM
Ok so I just recently got a new computer and I'm trying to run STO. It's running pretty good, but I default to the option, 'Run at Half resolution.' I clicked that to 'off' and it runs ok though busy ground missions and space missions with lots of trash (like Asteriods) performance can bog down. I'm guessing the weak link is my video card, but I'm not as up on this stuff as some people are so I'm wondering what people think I should be trying. Here's my specs

Ram: 6GB
Processor: AMD Athlon II x4 630, 2.80 GHz
OS: Windows 7
Graphics: Nividia GeoForce 9100.

I figured it'd be in a pretty good place because the recommended spects recommend a Nividia GeoForce 8800. Is there something different about the that it would be less powerful than the 8800? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-31-2010, 02:41 PM
Your GPU is alot weaker than a 8800. Its weaker than a 8500 for that matter. If your looking for a cheap upgrade, go for the HD 5750 or GTS 250. It all depends on how much you want to spend.

I am pretty sure your GPU has less shaders, less rops , on DDR2 instead of GDDR3 with the 8800. That gives you less memory bandwidth.

http://www.hardwareheaven.com/attach...spire-4530.gif

http://tpucdn.com/reviews/Zotac/GeFo...es/gpuz_oc.gif
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-31-2010, 02:52 PM
I have a similar machine and to make it work best, I set my game to Fullscreen and lowered the game resolution, in the Video options (It was at 1600X900 initially and I put it at 1280X720). Fixed about all my slowness issues, really!

Here: AMD Athlon II X2
4Gb Ram
Nvidia GeForce 9200
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-31-2010, 04:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ****tor View Post
I have a similar machine and to make it work best, I set my game to Fullscreen and lowered the game resolution, in the Video options (It was at 1600X900 initially and I put it at 1280X720). Fixed about all my slowness issues, really!

Here: AMD Athlon II X2
4Gb Ram
Nvidia GeForce 9200

This was my fix as well.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 AM.