Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
# 11 Invisible laucher
06-16-2013, 07:12 AM
if anyone else is having same problem.
STO launcher didnt show up on my screen.
After starting, icon in taskbar was there but there was no window where u can input username and password to start playing.

1. Start STO
2. start Task manager
3. Applications tab
4. Right click on Star trek online and press Minimize
5. Right click again and press Maximize
(Now launcher is there but Maximized over everything)
6. Escape to close launcher
7. Start STO and there is your launcher again, visible and in normal size.

Still not working? Try running the task manager in administrator mode. This can be done by typing "taskmgr" in start menu search field, right-clicking taskmgr.exe and choosing "Run as Administrator". (Thanks to chi1701d for the tip!)

Hope it helps

((EDIT from BranFlakes: This workaround can be used until a permanent solution is provided. Thanks! -Brandon))

Last edited by pwebranflakes; 09-05-2013 at 03:03 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
# 12
06-16-2013, 08:36 AM
I am having the very same issue. Attempt to launch any Crypitc game (STO, CO and Neverwinter) and the game fails to ever launch. The task manager shows that the application is running to some extent. But you are unable to see it active in any fashion other than the icon on the taskbar.

**UPDATE** Found the solution on another post (right click the STO process and select move) the application is just off screen it would seem. Never thought to try that as it was just fine 4 hours ago.

link

Last edited by ez55119; 06-16-2013 at 08:53 AM. Reason: found the solution
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
# 13
06-16-2013, 09:18 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by uglyjimmy View Post
if anyone else is having same problem.
STO launcher didnt show up on my screen.
After starting, icon in taskbar was there but there was no window where u can input username and password to start playing.

1. Start STO
2. start Task manager
3. Applications tab
4. Right click on Star trek online and press Minimize
5. Right click again and press Maximize
(Now launcher is there but Maximized over everything)
6. Escape to close launcher
7. Start STO and there is your launcher again, visible and in normal size.

Hope it helps
Will you marry me?
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
# 14
06-16-2013, 01:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott248 View Post
I got my problem fixed. Somehow the launcher window was off the screen desktop. I had to right click on the taskbar icon and select move..and then use the arrow keys to move it back tot he screen. Do not know how or why this happened. but I can play now.
What if we don't have the 'move' command available on the taskbar icon? It's totally greyed out.

Edit: Okay, Minimized, then restored, then used move. And holy crap, based on an estimate of speed it was moving/time it took to get on screen, the window was five feet below the desktop.

Last edited by stylops; 06-16-2013 at 01:33 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 24
# 15
06-16-2013, 02:03 PM
Thank you, Scott! I had the same problem and couldn't figure out what it was at first. Your fix worked.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
# 16
06-17-2013, 05:02 AM
Fix worked. FYI, its off the bottom right corner, so my suspician is someone in development is using a 10,000 x 10,000 pixel monitor and centred it on their screen before saving.
Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
# 17
06-18-2013, 02:09 AM
Thanks, just had this happen and got it fixed. That was frustrating.
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 16
# 18 Bizarro!
06-18-2013, 04:06 PM
All I can say is they need to dump anything to do with I.E
But also just wanted to say thanks guys!

Instant fix, but I blame everything on I.E
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
# 19 Launcher Issues
06-18-2013, 07:18 PM
Hi, I click the desktop icon and the launcher doesn't show up on the screen. You see it at the bottom bar but when you click it to show up on the screen I get nothing. Any thoughts?
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 87
# 20
06-18-2013, 07:53 PM
I am recently having this same issue. Happy to know that it isn't just me.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:19 AM.