Lieutenant
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWEowned Rachel Garrett
After the PWE-Forum-nuking, I think I should restart this thread for those who need dev support:
Hi folks,

got tired of fiddling with shortcuts and the command line to play back demo files. So I made this little app, that should make life easier:

Star Trek Online Demo Launcher 2.9.6

Installation: You need Microsoft .Net Framework (at least version 3.5) to run the tool. Other than that, no installation is required.

Firewall settings: As of v 1.8.0 StoDemoLauncher wants to check with the sourceforge-server for updates every six hours (the first time directly after applicaton launch). If you do not want that, you can safely block its request using your firewall. No data is submitted, except for what the http protocol requires to download the current version information on this page. If a newer version of StoDemoLauncher is found, you are asked, if you want to visit the download page on sourceforge. That is all. You can safely block StoDemoLauncher with a software firewall and won't loose no functionality other than the auto-update. Since 2.9.0 you can disable the feature entirely in the Tools->Options menu.

Help
Vanity
Disclaimer: Be prepared for bugs. And backup your demo files! The tool is not developed, endorsed, supported, or affiliated in any way with Cryptic Studios, so please don't bug them about it. Also, use this at your own risk! I tested it with Win XP 32-Bit and Win 7 64-Bit and encountered no problems. But if you do, and it blows up your computer, that will be your problem and your problem alone . If you want to redistribute it, feel free to do so. I'm releasing it to the public domain as a birthday gift to the STO community. If you want to look at the source code, you can do so here.

I'd be glad to hear some feedback, bug reports, and feature requests.

Regards,
Rachel

P.S.: Thanks to CaptNeo, who setup the project at sourceforge.
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,032
# 2
07-02-2012, 12:36 PM
don't forget to hit Branflakes up for a new stivky.
Handle: @kirian_darkstar
Registered: Oct/2009 , LTS : Feb/2011
Fleets: Warriors of the Phoenix, Kirian Industries
Three years and still no Captain Klaa hair...
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 330
# 3
07-02-2012, 01:04 PM
Thanks Rachel for all your work and for reposting this I had wanted to start learning how demorecord works.

Your my new hero
The Account formally known as Rayvenwing
Actual Join Date : Feb 2010

Career Officer
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
# 4
07-05-2013, 05:30 AM
Demorecorded Mine Trap last night....tried launching them today and keep getting this message:

Quote:
Fatal Error: Failed to load data for map: either the data does not exist on disk (failed to patch) or the crc or version number of the data on disk does not match what the code is expecting.
Technical details: map
"Maps/Planets/Events/Rom_Hfihar_Ground_Defend/Rom_Hfifar_Ground_Defend.zone"
Any hints or tips to make this work?

(just saw that there was a new thread for this /facepalm
Full Frontal Nerdity - A group that spans across STO, CO and NWO
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 348
# 5
08-03-2013, 08:13 AM
This is a great tool, but for some reason I cannot get the sound recorder to work. Half the time I get an empty 0 byte .wav file, and the other half of the time it might be a large file that contains nothing when opened in Audacity or other audio editors (assuming the file doesn't give any errors). Any tips on what I might be doing wrong?
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,268
# 6
08-03-2013, 09:36 PM
This thread is dead, folks.

But since I'm here ... is there a way to get this to work on Wine?
"It's not safe out here. It's wondrous, with treasures to satiate desires both subtle and gross. But it's not for the timid."
-- Q
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
# 7
08-20-2013, 09:09 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabelgrave View Post
This is a great tool, but for some reason I cannot get the sound recorder to work. Half the time I get an empty 0 byte .wav file, and the other half of the time it might be a large file that contains nothing when opened in Audacity or other audio editors (assuming the file doesn't give any errors). Any tips on what I might be doing wrong?
My guess is you have to enable to the system audio as recordable.
Right click the sound icon on your task bar, choose "Recording devices".
Enable settings and see which one allows for recording from the sound card.
Worse case scenario you have to run a line from the audio out to to an audio in and record that way.

This is tool could work for all Cryptic games with some modification but it seems the source code is read only.

I'm making a similar tool, its not as fancy as this yet, sure would be nice not to reinvent the wheel.
Here's the old version of my rolling stone.
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
# 8
08-31-2013, 09:13 AM
So I'm encountering a crash when attempting to play back demos from certain Mission Systems, for instance, Traelus System from the Satellite Repair (Neu_Patrol_System_03) and the VZA-4001 System from that Breen Mission (Bre_Vza-4001_System). The error is:

"Fatal Error: Failed to load data for map: either the data does not exist on disk (failed to path) or the crc or version number of the data on disk does not match what the code is expecting.

Technical Details: map
"Maps/Solar_System/Bre/Bre-Vza-4001_System/Bre_Vza-4001_System.Zone"

Another user had a similar problem here (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...&postcount=122)

I'm willing to go in and edit the demo file itself, I'm just not sure what CRC/version I'd need to even change. Any help would be appreciated, this seems to affect a lot of systems.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 46
# 9
10-27-2013, 08:27 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by spankminister View Post
So I'm encountering a crash when attempting to play back demos from certain Mission Systems, for instance, Traelus System from the Satellite Repair (Neu_Patrol_System_03) and the VZA-4001 System from that Breen Mission (Bre_Vza-4001_System). The error is:

"Fatal Error: Failed to load data for map: either the data does not exist on disk (failed to path) or the crc or version number of the data on disk does not match what the code is expecting.

Technical Details: map
"Maps/Solar_System/Bre/Bre-Vza-4001_System/Bre_Vza-4001_System.Zone"

Another user had a similar problem here (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...&postcount=122)

I'm willing to go in and edit the demo file itself, I'm just not sure what CRC/version I'd need to even change. Any help would be appreciated, this seems to affect a lot of systems.
That is a known problem with demorecord and demo playback in Star Trek Online. Some maps simply cannot be recorded and played back anymore without the client crashing. For almost two years now, I and other community members have pointed out the problem to Cryptic, but because demorecord is just an unofficial feature of the client, Cryptic does not mobilize the resources to fix the issue.

I'm sorry, but there is nothing I can do in the StoDSemoLauncher to fix the issue.

Regards,
Rachel
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
# 10
12-13-2013, 10:08 AM
Thank you so much for your reply, and for your work supporting the Demo Viewer! I've made a couple of videos using it, though I still aspire to the level of the anniversary tribute videos

I also encountered some other issues that I wasn't sure what to do with... is this a good place to put them, or is there a place to work out bugs on the sourceforge/wiki that you'd prefer?

An issue I've seen is that demos of certain maps sometimes load in the viewer with no details-- for instance, on the Fleet Starbase map, the glass windows will not be transparent, instead loading with a flat texture, or the same issue with the Fleet Embassy map and the aquariums. Further, certain objects like bar furniture and chairs will not load. What's weird is that if I play the demo, then hit the rewind button to restart, THEN everything will load properly. This doesn't seem to happen every time, and I'm unable to determine what triggers it... checking and unchecking various options didn't seem to help. I guess a workaround would be to load it properly in the Demoviewer, then record it with FRAPS, eh?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 PM.